IKEA Vienna Westbahnhof

Hej roof space

“If you love something, it stays for longer.” REGUPOL was involved in a future-oriented project to capitalise on roof surfaces.

Designers and building contractors have recognised the potential of space on the roofs of our cities. In a few decades, our roofs will be landscapes.

With its green façades, multi-purpose use and, above all, roof space that has been capitalised on, IKEA Vienna Westbahnhof is much more than just a furniture store – it is a new meeting spot in the heart of the Austrian capital.

Alongside the façades, the roof is the building’s special feature. The huge roof terrace offers not only a magnificent view over Vienna, but also versatile offers for the public – and a challenge when it comes to sound insulation.

Designer and building contractors have recognised the potential for space on the roofs of our cities. In a few decades, according to Jakob Dunkl from querkraft architekten, our roofs will be “landscapes that will be inhabited, used and greened” – so, a very big topic for the future.

The façades and roof are exemplary and pioneering, especially when it comes to climate protection and the increased requirements for sound insulation.

 The architecture and the possibilities of use are always crucial factors for a building’s success, and querkraft architekten have done a lot of work here. They created a highly communicative structure with urban spaces for experiences and active roof surfaces.

A green mantle surrounds the entire building. It is 4.5 metres deep, provides plenty of shade, and houses rooms, terraces, plants and lifts, emergency stairs, toilets and building services.

The façades and roof are exemplary and pioneering, especially when it comes to climate protection, intelligent urban consolidation and the increased requirements for sound insulation.

The building is in line with the positive image of the furniture store, and yet this branch is different from all the others that have gone before.

IKEA wants to be a good neighbour, so the building also looks extremely friendly, unconventional and urban. The Swedish furniture store uses five of the seven floors. Hotel Jo & Joe is located on the top two floors.

The building is in line with the positive image of the furniture store, and yet this branch is different from all the others that have gone before. On each level are open spaces with plants, greened façade elements, birds’ nests, beehives and lots and lots of light. A total of 160 trees ensure a more pleasant microclimate.

IKEA Vienna Westbahnhof is crowned by an attractive roof space with offerings that make a difference. The roof and building have already been awarded the GREENPASS ® Platinum certificate.This is an equally ambitious, new, all-in-one planning and certification tool for climate-resilient urban planning and architecture.

Everyone involved is a winner: those who meet for coffee on the spectacular roof often also visit IKEA, and vice versa.

IKEA and querkraft architekten have recognised that capitalising on roof areas is a huge opportunity to made our properties, and thus our cities, more attractive: the IKEA “TOPPEN” snack bar on the roof terrace is the first in the world that is publicly accessible. But there is no compulsion to consume – you can also bring your own snacks.

Everyone involved is a winner: those who meet for coffee on the spectacular roof often also visit IKEA, and vice versa. Those who want to stay the night in Vienna also choose their accommodation based on the offers in the surrounding area – and the terrace on the roof is open until the evening.

It is therefore not only a question of the design of the roof area, but also of the uses beneath it. Sound insulation makes this possible, and this topic is one of REGUPOL’s core competencies.

This combination of lively living and bedrooms below naturally entails requirements for compliance with maximum sound insulation.

REGUPOL is the right partner when it comes to developing holistic urban solutions, and also when it comes to the absence of conflict between the various user concepts.

The roof terrace above Hotel Jo & Joe is open to the public until late in the evening. This combination of lively living and bedrooms below naturally entails requirements for compliance with maximum sound insulation (target value LnT,w< 28 dB according to ÖNORM S 5012:2012).

The impact sound insulation that is suitable for the outdoor area of IKEA Wien Westbahnhof not only meets all the sound insulation requirements but also protects the soundproofing against mechanical influences and has a drainage function. A filter fleece for preventing slurries ensures these properties on a permanent basis.

The appropriate product is called REGUPOL sound and drain and meets the highest of demands when it comes to acoustics.

To put it in the words of the architect: “If you love something, it stays for longer.”

IKEA Vienna Westbahnhof is breaking new ground on many levels. On the one hand, the Swedish furniture store is taking account of changing consumer behaviour with a new, car-free concept, and, on the other, thanks to numerous architectural and technical ideas, it offers enormous structural sustainability.

Yet, the pleasant and authentic appearance of the building, the greenery and the capitalisation on the roof areas (yoga courses are even held here) also give it emotional sustainability. To put it in the words of the architect: “If you love something, it stays for longer.”

A building with future.

Project data

Architect

querkraft architekten zt gmbh
Börseplatz 2
A – 1010 Wien

office@querkraft.at

Client

IKEA Einrichtunge-Handelsges.m.b.H.

Sound insulation

REGUPOL BSW GmbH
Am Hilgenacker 24
D – 57319 Bad Berleburg

Physical address

IKEA Wien Westbahnhof
Europaplatz 1
A – 1150 Vienna

Opening

2021

Author

Johannes Bühlbecker
More Sports Media
(Advertorial)

Photograph

REGUPOL
IKEA
Christina Häusler – querkraft
Hertha Hurnaus – querkraft

Video

You may have more of this.

Social Media

Follow us!

GDPR Cookie Consent with Real Cookie Banner

IKEA Wien Westbahnhof

Hej Dachfläche

„Wenn du was liebst, bleibt‘s länger stehen.“ REGUPOL war an einem Zukunftsprojekt zur Aktivierung von Dachflächen beteiligt.

Planer und Bauherren haben das Flächenpotenzial auf den Dächern unserer Städte erkannt. In ein paar Jahrzehnten werden unsere Dächer Landschaften sein…

Mit seinen begrünten Fassaden, der Mischnutzung und vor allem der aktivierten Dachfläche ist IKEA Wien Westbahnhof viel mehr als nur ein Einrichtungshaus, sondern ein neuer Treffpunkt im Herzen der österreichischen Hauptstadt.

Neben den Fassaden ist das Dach die Besonderheit des Gebäudes. Die riesige Dachterrasse bietet nicht nur einen herrlichen Blick über Wien, sondern auch vielseitige öffentliche Angebote – und eine Herausforderung für den Schallschutz.

Planer und Bauherr haben das Flächenpotenzial auf den Dächern unserer Städte erkannt. In ein paar Jahrzehnten, so Jakob Dunkl von querkraft architekten, werden unsere Dächer „Landschaften sein, die bewohnt, benutzt und begrünt sein werden“ – also ein ganz großes Thema der Zukunft.

 

 

Fassaden und Dach sind beispielhaft und zukunftsweisend, vor allem in Hinblick auf den Klimaschutz und die gesteigerten Anforderungen an den Schallschutz.

Die Architektur und die Nutzungsmöglichkeiten sind immer entscheidende Faktoren für den Erfolg eines Gebäudes, und Querkraft Architekten haben hier ganze Arbeit geleistet. Sie schufen einen ausgesprochen kommunikativen Baukörper mit urbanen Erlebnisräumen und aktiven Dachflächen.

Eine grüne Hülle zieht sich um das komplette Gebäude. Sie ist 4,5 Meter tief, spendet viel Schatten und beherbergt Räume, Terrassen, Pflanzen und Aufzüge, Fluchttreppen, Toiletten und die Haustechnik.

Fassaden und Dach sind beispielhaft und zukunftsweisend, vor allem in Hinblick auf den Klimaschutz, die intelligente Verdichtung und eben auch die gesteigerten Anforderungen an den Schallschutz.

Das Gebäude entspricht dem positiven Image des Einrichtungshauses, und dennoch ist diese Filiale anders als alle anderen zuvor.

IKEA will ein guter Nachbar sein, und so wirkt das Gebäude auch ausgesprochen freundlich, unkonventionell und urban. Das schwedische Möbelhaus nutzt fünf der sieben Geschosse. In den beiden obersten Stockwerken ist das Hotel Jo & Joe untergebracht.

Das Gebäude entspricht dem positiven Image des Einrichtungshauses, und dennoch ist diese Filiale anders als alle anderen zuvor. Auf jeder Ebene gibt es Freiflächen mit Pflanzen, begrünte Fassadenelemente, Vogelnester, Bienenstöcke und ganz viel Licht. Insgesamt 160 Bäume sorgen für ein angenehmeres Mikroklima.

Gekrönt wird IKEA Wien Westbahnhof von einer attraktiven Dachfläche mit Angeboten, die den Unterschied machen. Dach und Gebäude wurden bereits mit dem GREENPASS® Platinum Zertifikat ausgezeichnet.​ Das ist ein ebenfalls ambitioniertes neues all-in-one Planungs- und Zertifizierungstool für klimaresiliente Stadtplanung und Architektur.

Gewinner sind alle Beteiligten: Wer sich auf dem spektakulären Dach zum Kaffee verabredet, besucht häufig auch IKEA und umgekehrt.

IKEA und Querkraft Architekten haben die Aktivierung von Dachflächen als eine Riesenchance zur Attraktivierung unserer Immobilien und damit unserer Städte erkannt: Die IKEA-Snackbar “TOPPEN“ auf der Dachterrasse ist die weltweit erste öffentlich zugängliche. Konsumzwang herrscht aber nicht, man kann auch seinen eigenen Imbiss mitbringen.

 

Gewinner sind alle Beteiligten: Wer sich auf dem spektakulären Dach zum Kaffee verabredet, besucht häufig auch IKEA und umgekehrt. Wer in Wien übernachten will, sucht sich seine Unterkunft auch nach den Angeboten in der Umgebung aus – und die Terrasse auf dem Dach hat bis in den Abend hinein geöffnet.

Es geht dabei also nicht nur um die Gestaltung der Dachfläche, sondern auch um die Nutzungen darunter. Der Schallschutz macht es möglich, und dieses Thema gehört zu den REGUPOL-Kernkompetenzen.

Die Kombination aus prallem Leben und darunterliegenden Schlafräumen bringt natürlich Anforderungen an den Schallschutz mit sich.

Wenn es um die Entwicklung ganzheitlicher urbaner Lösungen geht, und zudem um die Konfliktfreiheit zwischen den verschiedenen Nutzerkonzepten, ist REGUPOL der richtige Partner.

Die Dachterrasse über dem Hotel Jo & Joe ist bis in die Abendstunden hinein öffentlich nutzbar. Diese Kombination aus prallem Leben und darunterliegenden Schlafräumen bringt natürlich Anforderungen an die Einhaltung eines maximalen Schallschutzes (Zielwert LnT,w< 28 dB nach ÖNORM S 5012:2012) mit sich.

Die für den Außenbereich IKEA Wien Westbahnhof geeignete Trittschalldämmung entspricht nicht nur allen Anforderungen des Schallschutzes, sie schützt auch die Abdichtung vor mechanischen Einflüssen und verfügt über eine Drainagefunktion. Ein Filtervlies zur Verhinderung von Einschlämmungen gewährleistet diese Eigenschaften dauerhaft.

Das passende Produkt heißt REGUPOL sound and drain und erfüllt höchste Ansprüche an die Akustik.

Um es mit den Worten des Architekten zu sagen: „Wenn du was liebst, bleibt‘s länger stehen.“

IKEA Wien Westbahnhof beschreitet neue Wege auf vielen Ebenen. Zum einen trägt das schwedische Möbelhaus mit einem neuen, autofreien Konzept dem veränderten Konsumverhalten Rechnung, zum anderen bietet es dank vieler architektonischer und technischer Ideen eine enorme strukturelle Nachhaltigkeit.

 

Das sympathische und authentische Auftreten des Gebäudes, das Grün und die Aktivierung der Dachflächen (hier finden sogar Yogakurse statt) aber verleiht ihm auch eine emotionale Nachhaltigkeit. Um es mit den Worten des Architekten zu sagen: „Wenn du was liebst, bleibt‘s länger stehen.“

Ein Gebäude mit Zukunft.

Projektdaten

Architekt

querkraft architekten zt gmbh
Börseplatz 2
A – 1010 Wien

office@querkraft.at

Bauherr

IKEA Einrichtunge-Handelsges.m.b.H.

Schallschutz

REGUPOL BSW GmbH
Am Hilgenacker 24
D – 57319 Bad Berleburg

Standort

IKEA Wien Westbahnhof
Europaplatz 1
A – 1150 Wien

Eröffnung

2021

Autor

Johannes Bühlbecker
More Sports Media
(Advertorial)

Fotograf

REGUPOL
IKEA
Christina Häusler – querkraft
Hertha Hurnaus – querkraft

Video

Abonnieren Sie unseren

Social Media

Folgen Sie uns!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This