Select Page

Fits.

SAP Garden at Munich Olympic Park

by 3XN Architects

Situation

The contract for building the new multipurpose sports arena on the site of the former Olympic cycling track stadium in Munich Olympic Park was awarded to 3XN Architects of Copenhagen, Denmark, together with Latz + Partner, a German landscape and urban planning firm. The sports arena, with match seating of up to 11,500, will be the future home of German basketball champions FC Bayern Munich and German ice hockey champions Munich Red Bulls.

To improve the local sports infrastructure for schools, amateur clubs and young talents, three additional canopied ice rinks will be built next to the sports arena as training facilities and for recreational use. Therefore, a comprehensive agreement on guaranteed opening times for the ice rinks has been closed with the City of Munich. The building owner of the project is Red Bull Stadion München GmbH.

Architect

3XN A/S
Kanonbådsvej 8
DK – 1437 Copenhagen K

Client

Red Bull Stadion München GmbH

Solitaire

SAP Garden will replace the Olympic Velodrome at the same place.

The new sports arena is a separate oval structure that naturally and respectfully melds into the world-famous Olympic Park with its many iconic buildings. This impression is enhanced by the green roof and vertical facade structure.

The facade is dominated by vertical lamellas, swinging upwards over the glass-paneled entrances which are thus beautifully accentuated. The training areas are partially underground and modelled to form a green hill, picking up the topography and enabling a coherent continuation of the pathways and landscape design of the Olympic Park.

Address

SAP Garden
Toni-Merkens-Weg 4
D-80809 München

Aerial view

The Behnisch approach

The new multipurpose sports arena will be the fourth arena project for 3XN Architects. ”During the design process, we continually thought about the park’s original design and asked ourselves how Günter Behnisch would have approached the task. It was important to us to create a flexible, multipurpose arena with a strong identity while respecting the history and vision of the original Olympic Park and fitting in quite naturally. ”

The groundbreaking ceremony is planned for the coming winter. Inauguration of the new sports arena is planned for late summer 2021. Utilizing the arena’s full organizational capacity, its two principal future occupants, FC Bayern Munich’s Basketball division and the Munich Red Bulls, can each play up to 40 matches per year. And there is additional capacity for up to 20 other matches and sports events as well as 20 sports-related events. The gross floor area of SAP Garden will be 673,000 square feet (62,500 square meters).

Illustrations

Text

Comments

Clients and future users of SAP Garden are very much in agreement with the result, also and especially in connection with the Olympic Park.

Red Bull GmbH: “The design unites economic viability, sustainability and energy efficiency. That is why 3XN Architects’ design was the best among many great entries.“

Uli Hoeneß, President, FC Bayern München: “I’m impressed by how the architects of the winning design managed to incorporate the visual character of the legendary Olympic Park. The new arena will be much more than a top-modern sports hall where fans, athletes and our basketball team will feel comfortable. I’m sure that this sports arena with its compelling design, including the green roof, will be an architectural eye-catcher and a great gain for the city of Munich.”

For the City of Munich, the special agreement to make the ice rinks available to its citizens for 8,000 hours each season presents a unique opportunity to create excellent skating conditions for schools, clubs and the general public. The sports arena will help strengthen the Olympic Park’s position as an outstanding venue for both professional and grassroots sports in Munich.

Feedback

2 + 14 =

Advertisement

Facts and figures

  • Gross floor area 673,000 sq. ft. (62,500 sq. m.)
  • Audience capacity up to 11,500
  • Three canopied ice rinks
  • Underground parking garage at the sports arena with 220 spaces (an additional 4,000 parking spaces are available at ‘Parkharfe Olympiapark’)
  • Approx. 1,000 business seats
  • 11 VIP boxes with approx. 156 seats
  • Fan shops
  • Office and conference facilities

Opening

2021

Your project

Suchen Sie Unterstützung bei der Veröffentlichung Ihrer Projekte?

projects@moresports.network

Oder rufen Sie uns an:

0049 234 5466 0374

Über uns

More Sports Media

Johannes Bühlbecker, founder

Johannes Bühlbecker is an architect and has worked, among others, for International Association for Sports and Leisure Facilities (IAKS) for 15 years – as editorial director of the renowned trade magazine “sb”, in the organisation and realisation of international architectural competitions with IOC and IPC, in trade fairs and conventions, as head of the “NRW Beratungsstelle Sportstätten“ (“NRW Advice Centre for Sports Facilities”) and as a lecturer at the German Sport University Cologne.

  • Dipl.-Ing. (engineering degree) Architect, TU Berlin
  • Longtime editorial head with “sb”, an international journal for the architecture of sports
  • Training in web design, online marketing, etc.
  • International architectural competitions with IOC and IPC
  • Trade fair and congress organisation
  • Head of the “NRW Beratungsstelle Sportstätten“ (“NRW Advice Centre for Sports Venues”)
  • Lecturer at the German Sport University Cologne
  • Planning of the Prussian Stadium in Münster (for großmann engineers, Göttingen)
  • Replanning a football stadium in Berlin-Köpenick
  • Numerous publications, i.a. “From Round Leather to Soap Bubbles – The Development of Football and its Architecture”
  • Board member and youth coach at SV BW Weitmar 09

Contact

Phone

+(49) 234 5466 0374

Mail

contact@moresports.network

Address

More Sports Media
Am Weitkamp 17
D-44795 Bochum

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Passt.

der SAP Garden im Münchner Olypiapark

von 3XN Architects

Die Situation

Das dänische Architekturbüro 3XN Architects, in Zusammenarbeit mit den Landschaftsarchitekten Latz + Partner, hat den Wettbewerb zum Bau der bis zu 11.500 Zuschauer fassenden, zukünftigen Spielstätte des deutschen Basketballmeisters FC Bayern München und des deutschen Eishockeymeisters Red Bull München gewonnen.

Um auch die Infrastruktur für den Schul-, Freizeit- und Nachwuchssport zu optimieren, entstehen neben der SAP Garden genannten Arena drei weitere überdachte Eissportflächen für Trainingszwecke und den nicht wettkampforientierten Breitensport. Hierzu wurde ein umfangreicher Eiszeitenvertrag mit der Landeshauptstadt München abgeschlossen. Bauherr des Projekts ist die Red Bull Stadion München GmbH.

Architekt

3XN A/S
Kanonbådsvej 8
DK – 1437 Copenhagen K

Bauherr

Red Bull Stadion München GmbH

Solitär

Die Halle ersetzt das Olympia-Radstadion an gleicher Stelle.

Der SAP Garden tritt als ovaler, eigenständiger Solitär hervor und fügt sich durch die natürliche Einbindung sehr selbstverständlich und respektvoll in das weltberühmte Olympiapark-Ensemble ein. Das intensiv begrünte Dach und die vertikal strukturierte Fassade verstärken diesen Eindruck.

Die Fassade wird durch eine vertikale Lamellenstruktur bestimmt, die über den verglasten Eingängen nach oben schwingt und so die Haupteingänge betont.

Die eingegrabenen Trainingsflächen werden zu einem begrünten Hügel modelliert, nehmen die Topografie auf und ermöglichen die logische Fortführung der Wege und der Landschaftsgestaltung des Olympiaparks.

Adresse

SAP Garden
Toni-Merkens-Weg 4
D-80809 München

Luftbild

Behnisch und Auslastung

Für 3XN Architects ist es bereits das vierte Arenaprojekt. „Während des Designprozesses haben wir uns ständig Gedanken zu den Ideen hinter dem ursprünglichen Design gemacht und uns oft gefragt, was Günter Behnischs Ansatz wäre. Es war uns wichtig, eine flexible und vielseitige Arena mit starker Identität zu schaffen, die dennoch die Geschichte und Vision des ursprünglichen Olympiaparks respektiert, und die sich natürlich in den Olympiapark einfügt.“

Die Grundsteinlegung ist für den Winter dieses Jahres geplant, die Eröffnung im Spätsommer 2021. Die beiden zukünftigen Hauptnutzer FC Bayern München Basketball und Red Bull München können bei voller Nutzungsauslastung jährlich jeweils bis zu 40 Partien in der Sportarena austragen. Zusätzlich dürfen bestenfalls 20 weitere Sportevents sowie 20 sportnahe Veranstaltungen durchgeführt werden. Insgesamt verfügt die Arena über eine Bruttogeschossfläche von 62.500 Quadratmetern.

Illustrationen

Text

Stimmen zum Spiel

Bauherren und zukünftige Nutzer der Halle sind mit dem Ergebnis sehr einverstanden, auch und besonders im Zusammenhang mit dem Olympiapark.

Bauherr Red Bull ist der Meinung, der Entwurf vereine „Wirtschaftlichkeit, Nachhaltigkeit und Energieeffizienz. Deshalb war für uns der Beitrag von 3XN Architects der Beste unter vielen sehr guten.“

Uli Hoeneß, Präsident des FC Bayern München ist „wirklich begeistert, wie es den Architekten des Gewinnerentwurfs gelungen ist, die Anmutung des geschichtsträchtigen Olympiaparks aufzunehmen. Die neue Halle wird weit mehr sein als eine hochmoderne Arena, in der sich die Fans, Sportler und auch unsere Basketballmannschaft wohl fühlen werden. Ich bin mir ebenso sicher, dass diese Arena mit ihrer schlüssigen Gestaltung inklusive des begrünten Daches ein architektonischer Blickfang und Gewinn für die Stadt München sein wird.“

Für die Landeshauptstadt München bietet sich mit der vertraglichen Nutzung der Eisflächen – rund 8.000 Stunden pro Saison – eine einmalige Chance, hervorragende Bedingungen für den öffentlichen Eislauf sowie Schuleislauf und Vereinssport zu schaffen. Mit dem Bau des SAP Garden wird der Olympiapark seine Position als hervorragende Veranstaltungsstätte in München für Breiten- und Spitzensport weiter ausbauen.

Feedback

1 + 7 =

Werbung

Die Arena in Zahlen

  • 62.500 m² Bruttogeschossfläche
  • bis zu 11.500 Zuschauerplätze 
  • drei überdachte Eisflächen
  • Tiefgarage in der Arena mit 220 Stellplätzen (zusätzlich 4.000 Parkplätze im Olympiapark)
  • 1.000 Business-Seats
  • Elf Logen mit ca. 156 Plätzen
  • Fanshops
  • Büro- und Konferenzräume

Eröffnung

2021

Ihr Projekt

Suchen Sie Unterstützung bei der Veröffentlichung Ihrer Projekte?

projects@moresports.network

Oder rufen Sie uns an:

0049 234 5466 0374

Über uns

More Sports Media

Johannes Bühlbecker, Gründer von More Sports Media

Johannes Bühlbecker ist Architekt und hat unter anderem 15 Jahre lang für die Internationale Vereinigung Sport- und Freizeiteinrichtungen (IAKS) gearbeitet – als Redaktionsleiter der renommierten Fachzeitschrift „sb“, in der Organisation und Durchführung internationaler Architekturwettbewerbe mit IOC und IPC, im Messe- und Kongresswesen, als Leiter der „NRW Beratungsstelle Sportstätten“ und als Lehrbeauftragter an der Deutschen Sporthochschule Köln.

  • Dipl.-Ing. Architekt
  • Langjähriger Redaktionsleiter „sb“, Internationale Fachzeitschrift für die Architektur des Sports
  • Fortbildungen im Bereich Web-Design, Online-Marketing usw.
  • Internationale Architekturwettbewerbe mit IOC und  IPC
  • Messe- und Kongressorganisation
  • Leiter der „NRW Beratungsstelle Sportstätten“
  • Lehrbeauftragter an der Deutschen Sporthochschule Köln
  • Planung des Preußen-Stadions in Münster (für großmann ingenieure, Göttingen)
  • Neuplanung eines Fußballstadions in Berlin-Köpenick
  • Zahlreiche Publikationen, u.a. „Vom runden Leder zur Seifenblase – Die Entwicklung des Fußballs und seiner Architektur“
  • Vorstandsmitglied und Jugendtrainer beim SV BW Weitmar 09

Kontakt

Telefon

+(49) 234 5466 0374

Mail

contact@moresports.network

Adresse

More Sports Media
Am Weitkamp 17
D-44795 Bochum

Auch mal reinschauen?

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Have a closer look?

Please join our mailing list.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Durch die weitere Nutzung der Webseite stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zu. By continuing to use the website, you agree to the use of cookies. Weitere Informationen/More information

Die Cookie-Einstellungen auf dieser Website sind auf "Cookies zulassen" eingestellt, um das beste Surferlebnis zu ermöglichen. Wenn du diese Website ohne Änderung der Cookie-Einstellungen verwendest oder auf "Akzeptieren" klickst, erklärst du sich damit einverstanden.

Schließen