Knowing where you are

Oasia Hotel Singapore

Oasia Hotel

Singapore is a densely populated city-state, in which land is scarce. This makes space-saving, high-rise buildings a bare necessity. New standards in the sea of buildings in Singapore’s central business district are set by the Oasia Hotel, hailing from the hotel group of the same name and which was completed in 2016. In contrast to conventional high-rise towers, which are hermetically sealed and air-conditioned, this building, designed by the local WOHA office, impressively combines nature and architecture, both inside and out. The various pools adorning the building also reflect these high standards. As a part of the whole design concept they have been fashioned by the Spanish architect and designer Patricia Urquiola, who lives in Milan and operates her internationally renowned studio there.

The pool on 21st floor

For the various pools of Oasia Hotel, Patricia Urquiola employed ceramic tiles from the ChromaPlural system by the German brand Agrob Buchtal. Each pool has its own character: The one on the 21st floor is a stylish location for the lounge club located there: the 1.20-metre-deep pool, with a dynamic chevron pattern made of light and dark blue tiles, is supplemented by an ankle-deep “wading pool”, in which you only cool your feet while you enjoy sipping on a cocktail.

The rooftop pool

The rooftop pool on the 27th floor is divided in two by the roof restaurant located in the centre. The pools also include 1.20-metre-deep and very shallow areas with lounge chairs, which are surrounded by the calm waters. Unlike most roof areas of hotels, whose attraction is generally a far-reaching panoramic view, the view of the city’s skyline is almost completely obscured by the overgrown barrier – further proof of how unconventional WOHA’s architecture is. Instead of a thrilling view, this top area of Oasia Hotel offers a zone of surprising intimacy, creating an unexpected oasis amidst the urban bustle.

The building

The pools of Oasia Hotel are elementary components of a building which embodies an unmistakable architectural accentuation through its colour, shape and proportion. The declared intention of the architect was “to create an alternative language of imagery for high-rise buildings. We wished to combine innovative options for utilisation of space with a tropical approach, which culminated in an open, permeable, lush, green tower.”

The tower

This tower is 190 metres in height and offers four large outer areas in the form of three huge verandas and the previously mentioned roof terrace. This is surrounded by a ten-floor-high barrier which features the same red aluminium mesh as the rest of the building. With time, the façade will become covered with 21 different types of climbing plants and vines, creating a lively contrast between powerful red and sumptuous green tones. Sustainable architecture still bears the reputation of humourless seriousness. The Oasia Downtown Hotel shows that there is an alternative, which entails combining sustainability with upbeat design – a conceptual pair completely in line with the philosophy of the WOHA architectural firm, which was founded in 1994 by the Singaporean Wong Mun Summ and the Australian Richard Hassell, who has called Singapore his home since 1989.

The Sky Gardens

In addition to the red – but soon to be predominantly green – façade, the Sky Gardens of Oasia Hotel are among the inspiring sustainability aspects of the building, with their green plants, fresh air and resulting ventilation. The Sky Gardens were the answer to the owner’s desire for striking areas in the building. Given the limited ground area, WOHA decided on an approach which was later referred to as “Club Sandwich”: a series of different layers arose, each with its own Sky Garden. These gardens, described by WOHA as “higher-up ground floors”, were able to be utilised to multiply the “valuable yet limited ground area. In this way we managed to create spacious public areas for recreation and encounters throughout the entire building.” WOHA is responsible for the overall architecture and the concept of layers stacked up on each other.

Interior design

The actual design of the Sky Gardens and terraces is the work of Patricia Urquiola. Situated in the open parts of the building this areas with finest relaxing opportunities are offering a direct experience with the city instead of the restrictions of typical skyscrapers with closed facades.  Patricia Urquiola conceived the entire interior design, including the pools and the hotel’s outdoor areas.  She expanded upon WOHA’s upbeat and lively architecture to feature stylish and airy elegance being inspired by Singapore’s cultural diversity, dynamic society and tropical environment. Following her general intention she emphasized the importance of colours to give the whole hotel a strong personality and contemporary attitude. The 314 rooms have custom made furniture designed by Patricia Urquiola exclusively for the Oasia hotel. According to this awarded interior designer hotels are fascinating public spaces where people come to spend a short time and she compresses her philosophy with the following conclusion: “Each project has its own identity and you want to wake up knowing where you are”. The Oasia perfectly complies with this demand due to its distinctive character.  The result is a special kind of “overall artistic work” standing apart even in the middle of the vast sea of buildings and the numerous spectacular structures of Singapore – not as a product of cheap showmanship or due to its sheer size, but because of its striking signature, individuality and self-confident presence, in addition to its lightness and nonchalance.

Project data

Architect

WOHA
29 HongKong Street
Singapore 059668

Interior Design

Patricia Urquiola
Via Bartholomeo Eustachi 45
I – 20129 Milan

Client

Oasia Hotel Downtown
100 Peck Seah St
Singapur 079333

Ceramic Tiles

AGROB BUCHTAL GmbH
Buchtal 1
D – 92521 Schwarzenfeld

 

Photograph

AGROB BUCHTAL GmbH / Infinitude

Author

Werner Ziegelmeier
Agrob Buchtal

Aerial view

Thank you, Google!

Opening

2016

Images

Videos

Auch mal reinschauen?

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Have a closer look?

Please join our mailing list.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Durch die weitere Nutzung der Webseite stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zu. By continuing to use the website, you agree to the use of cookies. Weitere Informationen/More information

Die Cookie-Einstellungen auf dieser Website sind auf "Cookies zulassen" eingestellt, um das beste Surferlebnis zu ermöglichen. Wenn du diese Website ohne Änderung der Cookie-Einstellungen verwendest oder auf "Akzeptieren" klickst, erklärst du sich damit einverstanden.

Schließen

Seite auswählen

Ein wuscheliger grüner Turm

Das Oasia Hotel Singapur

Oasia Hotel

Singapur ist ein dicht besiedelter Stadtstaat, in dem Grund und Boden rar sind. Flächensparende Hochhäuser sind daher schlichte Notwendigkeit. Neue Maßstäbe im Häusermeer des Geschäftsviertels von Singapur setzt das 2016 fertiggestellte Oasia Hotel der gleichnamigen Hotelgruppe. Im Gegensatz zu konventionellen Hochhaus-Türmen, die hermetisch abgedichtet und klimatisiert sind, verbindet dieses vom einheimischen Büro WOHA entworfene Gebäude in beeindruckender Weise Architektur und Natur sowie Innen und Außen. Diesen hohen Anspruch spiegeln auch die diversen Pools des Hauses wider. Sie wurden als Teil des gesamten Designkonzepts von der spanischen Architektin und Designerin Patricia Urquiola gestaltet, die in Mailand lebt und dort ihr international renommiertes Studio betreibt.

Pools und Architekturkeramik

Für die Pools des Oasia Hotel verwendete Patricia Urquiola Keramikfliesen des Systems ChromaPlural der deutschen Marke Agrob Buchtal Architekturkeramik. Jeder Pool hat seinen eigenen Charakter. Der Pool im 21. Stock ist stylishe Location für den dortigen Lounge-Club: Der 1,20 Meter tiefe Pool mit dynamischem Winkelmuster aus hell- und dunkelblauen Fliesen wird ergänzt durch flache Becken, in denen man sich die Füße kühlt, während man an seinem Cocktail nippt.

Der Top Roof Pool

Der Top Roof Pool ganz oben im 27. Stock wird durch das in der Mitte liegende Dachrestaurant geteilt. Auch diese Becken beinhalten 1,20 Meter tiefe und flache Bereiche mit Liegen, in denen es sich trefflich erholen lässt. Anders als bei den meisten Dachbereichen von Hotels, deren Attraktion in der Regel ein weitschweifender Panoramablick ist, wird die Sicht auf die Skyline der Stadt im Oasia Hotel fast vollständig vom bewachsenen Schirm verdeckt – ein weiterer Beleg dafür, wie unkonventionell die Architektur von WOHA ist. Anstelle eines aufregenden Ausblicks offeriert dieser höchste Teil des Gebäudes eine Zone mit überraschender Intimität und bildet eine unerwartete Oase im Großstadtgetümmel.

Das Gebäude

Die Pools sind elementare Bestandteile eines Gebäudes, das durch Farbe, Form und Proportion ein unübersehbares architektonisches Ausrufezeichen setzt. Die erklärte Intention der Architekten war „eine alternative Bildsprache für gewerbliche Hochhausobjekte zu schaffen. Wir wollten innovative Möglichkeiten der Flächennutzung mit einem tropischen Ansatz kombinieren, der zu einem offenen, durchlässigen, wuscheligen, grünen Turm führte.“

Der Turm

Dieser Turm hat eine Höhe von 190 Metern und bietet vier große Außenbereiche in Form von drei riesigen Veranden sowie der erwähnten Dachterrasse. Diese ist mit einem zehn Stockwerke hohen Schirm umgeben, der mit dem gleichen roten Maschengewebe aus Aluminium verkleidet ist wie der Rest des Gebäudes. Die Fassade wird mit der Zeit von 21 verschiedenen Arten von Kletterpflanzen und Reben erobert werden, so dass sich ein lebhafter Kontrast zwischen kräftigen Rottönen und üppigem Grün ergeben wird. Nachhaltig konzipierter Architektur eilt immer noch der Ruf von humorloser Ernsthaftigkeit voraus. Das Oasia Hotel zeigt, dass es auch anders geht, in dem es Nachhaltigkeit mit Heiterkeit kombiniert – ein Begriffspaar ganz im Sinne der Philosophie des Architekturbüros WOHA, das 1994 vom Singapurer Wong Mun Summ und vom Australier Richard Hassell, der seit 1989 in Singapur lebt, gegründet wurde.

Die Sky Gardens

Neben der roten, aber schon bald überwiegend grünen Fassade gehören die so genannten Sky Gardens mit ihrer Bepflanzung, der frischen Luft sowie der daraus resultierenden Durchlüftung zu den begeisternden Nachhaltigkeitsaspekten des Bauwerks. Die Sky Gardens sind die Antwort auf den Wunsch des Bauherrn nach markanten Bereichen. Angesichts der begrenzten Grundfläche entschied sich WOHA für einen Ansatz, der später als „Club Sandwich“ bezeichnet wurde: Es entstanden eine Reihe unterschiedlicher Schichten, jede jeweils mit ihrem eigenen Sky Garden. Durch diese Gärten, die von WOHA als „erhöhte Erdgeschosse“ beschrieben werden, konnte die „wertvolle, aber begrenzte Grundfläche vervielfältigt werden. So konnten wir geräumige öffentliche Bereiche zur Erholung und Begegnung durch das gesamte Hochhaus hindurch anlegen.“ WOHA zeichnet verantwortlich für die Gesamtarchitektur sowie für das Konzept der übereinander angelegten Schichten.

Das Design

Das eigentliche Design der Sky Gardens und Terrassen ist das Werk von Patricia Urquiola. Diese Bereiche in den „Öffnungen“ des Gebäudes offerieren erstklassige Entspannungsmöglichkeiten und die Gelegenheit, die urbane Atmosphäre direkt zu erfahren – im Gegensatz zu typischen Wolkenkratzern mit geschlossenen Fassaden. Patricia Urquiola entwarf das komplette Innendesign inklusive der erwähnten Pools sowie die Außenbereiche des Hotels.  Sie erweiterte die heitere und lebendige Architektur von WOHA und betont die Wichtigkeit von Farben als Stilmittel, um dem gesamten Hotel eine eigenständige und zeitgenössische Anmutung zu verleihen. Die 314 Zimmer sind mit maßgefertigten Möbeln ausgestattet, die von Patricia Urquiola exklusiv für das Oasia Hotel entworfen wurden. Nach Auffassung dieser preisgekrönten Interior Designerin sind Hotels faszinierende öffentliche Räume, die Menschen als temporäres Heim dienen. Sie bringt ihre Philosophie folgendermaßen auf den Punkt: „Jedes Projekt und jedes Gebäude sollte seine eigene Identität haben, denn beim Aufwachen möchte man wissen, wo man ist“ – ein Anspruch, den das Oasia Hotel dank seines markanten Charakters perfekt erfüllt. Das Ergebnis ist ein architektonisches Gesamtkunstwerk der besonderen Art, das selbst aus dem dichten Häusermeer und den vielen spektakulären Bauten Singapurs herausragt – nicht auf Grund kurzlebiger Effekthascherei oder schierer Größe, sondern wegen der prägnanten Handschrift, die Individualität und selbstbewusste Präsenz vermittelt, aber zugleich Leichtigkeit und Lässigkeit.

Projektdaten

Architekt

WOHA 29 HongKong Street Singapur 059668

Innenarchitektur

Patricia Urquiola Via Bartholomeo Eustachi 45 I – 20129 Mailand

Bauherr

Oasia Hotel Downtown 100 Peck Seah St Singapur 079333

Keramikfliesen

AGROB BUCHTAL GmbH Buchtal 1 D – 92521 Schwarzenfeld  

material-

Fotograf

AGROB BUCHTAL GmbH / Infinitude

fa-

Autor

Werner Ziegelmeier 
Agrob Buchtal

Luftbild

Danke, Google!

material-

Eröffnung

2016

Bilder

Videos

Auch mal reinschauen?

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Have a closer look?

Please join our mailing list.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Durch die weitere Nutzung der Webseite stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zu. By continuing to use the website, you agree to the use of cookies. Weitere Informationen/More information

Die Cookie-Einstellungen auf dieser Website sind auf "Cookies zulassen" eingestellt, um das beste Surferlebnis zu ermöglichen. Wenn du diese Website ohne Änderung der Cookie-Einstellungen verwendest oder auf "Akzeptieren" klickst, erklärst du sich damit einverstanden.

Schließen