Sports meets culture

Streetmekka in Viborg

EFFEKT

About

Streetmekka is a new cultural destination offering a wide variety of facilities for self-organized sports like parkour, skate, bouldering, basketball, trial as well as a series of customized workshop areas for music production, DJ’ing, an animation studio, fabrication lab and various artist studios and wood and metal workshops.

Social spaces and informal meeting areas are distributed throughout the building and strategically interwoven in-between primary functions based on the notion that proximity to activities lower the threshold for participation.

Abandoned

The original building once served as a windmill factory and is a typical example of one of the many mass-produced warehouse or factory buildings from the late 1960’s and 70’s found in almost every suburban industrial zone in the western world. Constructed from prefabricated concrete panels or corrugated steel, these industrial leftovers are perceived as having little or negligible historic, cultural and architectural value.

Instead of taking the traditional approach and demolishing the leftover building EFFEKT wanted to explore how to re-use and re-program this type of insig­nificant and mostly introverted building typology in a qualitative way and at a very limited budget?

‘However uninteresting and grey the exterior of these boxes appear, they often contain an impressive interior space of magnificent scale and almost cathedral-like proportions based on a repetitive, neatly arranged structural system. To us this vast space posed the only true value of the building – and we wanted to expose and highlight this to the outside world.’ says Tue Foged, Partner at EFFEKT.

Approach

The approach was simply to remove the walls at both ends of the building and to place all the administrative functions and workshop spaces on one side of the existing structure and the skate-areas on the other side, leaving the internal former manufacturing space intact. This clear re-organization also equips the building with a completely new envelope and exterior and allows the architects to pull in more daylight through the two new glass facades while improving the connectivity to the exterior spaces and activities.

With many vacated industrial sites being incorporated in urban expansion, this approach may be replicated and can pave the way for the revitalization of many other disregarded buildings left to deteriorate or facing demolition. New neighborhoods can benefit from these industrial heritage markers to build identity and sense of place.

Individualized alternatives

The functional goal of the new Streetmekka is to create a series of functional spaces for sports, cultural and social purposes arranged in a highly complex programmatic network. The aim is to meet the increasing demand for self-organized and individualized alternatives to the established club-sports and cultural activities, supporting GAME’s mission to attract local youth and create lasting social change through street-sports and culture, enabling integration and empowering them in their future lives.

Targeting a broad demographic audience from across a variety of cultural backgrounds, gender, age and interests, the architects’ goal was to create an open and welcoming building, lowering the threshold for involvement and engagement. This was achieved this by making a transparent building with a clear, well-defined organization intuitive to everyone. An anti-elitist, pop-culture take on a hybrid between a sports facility and a culture house, that is robust enough to stay open to the public 24 hours day without supervision and where the users are in charge and take initiative.

Evolve with the users

The new Streetmekka 2.0 is for everyone. It doesn’t matter if you want to participate, create, hang out or observe – there is a designated space for everything and everyone. The idea of expanding the original program to include so many different types of activity under the same roof is based on the notion that co-existence breeds new synergies and new social relations. Additionally, it exposes visitors to new types of activity they might never have realized existed, encouraging future engagement.

The maker labs and workshop areas enable the users to continuously develop and reconfigure the facility. Streetmekka Viborg is not static in terms of program nor in physical appearance. It will continue to evolve with the users – both short term (due to the animated facades and the street-art) as well as long term (when new programs are added, and old ones removed).

Indoor streetscape

The architectural concept is based upon the idea of an indoor streetscape. The project opens the introverted industrial building and transforms the impressive central factory space into a new kind of interior space: a covered streetscape open to the outside.  The streetscape concept is used to define and organize the various functions and place them in relation to specific requirements, such as spatial quality, daylight, materiality and temperature zones.

The new volume is then wrapped with a functional translucent polycarbonate skin, giving the appearance of a light and welcoming building while also serving as a giant canvas for the local visual artists to display and project their art but also clearly differentiates the building from the surrounding industrial facilities. Streetmekka in Viborg is the first lot to be transformed in the new neighborhood and will work as a catalyst for city life in the upcoming area.

The surrounding landscape becomes the natural extension of the indoor surface with various street-sports and cultural functions placed in a recreational string of greenery connecting the site to the downtown area through a future pedestrian and bicycle path.

One third

The preservation of the original structure and the reuse and upcycling of materials made it possible to carry out the refurbishment at a very low expense. Many of the original components were also repurposed as furniture elements for the parkour activities and hang-out spaces. The final costs of the building are approximately one third of a traditional sports hall.

PROJECT DATA

Architect

EFFEKT
BLÅGÅRDSGADE 8 2 SAL
DK-2200 KØBENHAVN

Team

Luke Jouppi, Lars Pedersen, Jonathan Linde, Copenhagen Bouldering, Nørlum
BOGL landscape
Rambøll
Thomas Andersen A/S

Opening

2018

Address

GAME Streetmekka Viborg
Nellikevej 2
DK – 8800 Viborg

Aerial view

Thank you, Google!

Photography

© EFFEKT / Rasmus Hjortshøj Illustrations: © EFFEKT

Author

Effekt

PHOTOGRAPHS

PLANS

VIDEOS

About

“More Sports. More Architecture.” offers architecture, buildings, products, ideas and trends for sports and leisure.
We’re behind this: More Sports Media, a PR agency specializing in architecture, sports and leisure. We offer you support in your public relations work and in all your publications: Copywriting, Designing, Publishing.
We know the industry. Give us a try.

Newsletter

Auch mal reinschauen?

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Have a closer look?

Please join our mailing list.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Durch die weitere Nutzung der Webseite stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zu. By continuing to use the website, you agree to the use of cookies. Weitere Informationen/More information

Die Cookie-Einstellungen auf dieser Website sind auf "Cookies zulassen" eingestellt, um das beste Surferlebnis zu ermöglichen. Wenn du diese Website ohne Änderung der Cookie-Einstellungen verwendest oder auf "Akzeptieren" klickst, erklärst du sich damit einverstanden.

Schließen

Sport, Kultur & Industrie

Streetmekka in Viborg

Effekt

Alles kann

Streetmekka ist ein neues kulturelles Angebot für eine Vielzahl von selbst organisierten Sportarten wie Parkour, Skate, Bouldern, Basketball oder Trial. Das Projekt in der dänischen Stadt Viborg (40.000 Einwohner) bietet darüber hinaus eine Reihe von maßgeschneiderten Werkstattbereichen für Musikproduktion, DJ’ing, ein Animationsstudio, ein Fertigungslabor, Studios für Künstler sowie Holz- und Metallwerkstätten.

Sozialräume und informelle Begegnungsbereiche sind über das gesamte Gebäude verteilt und strategisch zwischen den Hauptfunktionen verwoben. Die Planer von Effekt gehen davon aus, dass die Nähe zu den vielfältigen Aktivitäten die Hemmschwelle für eine Teilnahme senkt.

Das Raster von Kathedralen

In dem ursprünglichen Gebäude wurden früher Windkraftanlagen produziert. Die Halle ist ein typisches Beispiel für Lager- oder Fabrikgebäude aus den späten 1960er und 70er Jahren, die in fast allen vorstädtischen Industriegebieten der westlichen Welt zu finden sind oder waren. Meist gebaut mit vorgefertigten Betonplatten oder Wellblech werden diese industriellen Zeitzeugen meist als wenig historisch, kulturell oder architektonisch wertvoll wahrgenommen.

EFFEKT, ein in Projekten für Sport und Freizeit erfahrenes Büro aus Kopenhagen, entschied sich für einen anderen Weg: Anstatt die alte Halle abzureißen, blieben Tragwerk und Teile der Gebäudehülle erhalten und wurden mit neuen Funktionen wieder aufgefüllt. Eine Entscheidung, die sich auch sehr positiv auf das Projektbudget auswirken sollte.

So uninteressant und grau das Äußere dieser Kisten auch erscheinen mag: Oft bieten sie einen beeindruckenden Innenraum von prächtiger Größe. Man findet an Kathedralen erinnernde Proportionen, die auf einem übersichtlichen Raster beruhen. Für EFFEKT war dieser riesige Raum der einzig wahre Wert des Gebäudes – und den wollten die Architekten nach außen hin sichtbar machen.

Neue Struktur, neue Identität

Zunächst wurden die Wände an den beiden Enden des Gebäudes entfernt. Die Verwaltung und die Werkstatträume wurden auf einer Längsseite untergebracht, der Skatebereich unter Beibehaltung der vorhandenen Raumstrukturen auf der anderen.

Neu ist neben der inneren Organisation auch die Gebäudehülle. Die beiden Glasfassaden lassen deutlich mehr Tageslicht einfallen und verbessern die Anbindung an die Außenräume und die Outdoor-Aktivitäten.

Brachliegende Industriestandorte wie diesen gibt es viele. Streetmekka kann ein gelungenes Beispiel für die Revitalisierung vieler anderer, zum Abriss stehender Gebäude werden. Gerade bei der Entwicklung neuer Stadtteile kann die Umwidmung solcher industrieller Erben sehr helfen, Identität aufzubauen.

Eine popkulturelle Mischung

Funktionales Ziel des neuen Streetmekka ist es, Räume und Flächen für sportliche, kulturelle und soziale Zwecke in einem komplexen Netzwerk zu schaffen. Ein weiteres Ziel ist es, der steigenden Nachfrage nach selbstorganisiertem und individualisiertem Alternativen zum etablierten Vereinssport – und nach kulturellen Aktivitäten – gerecht zu werden. Die Mission des Betreibers GAME ist es, lokale Jugendliche anzuziehen und mit ihnen einen nachhaltigen sozialen Wandel zu schaffen. Die Mischung aus individuellen Sportarten und kulturellen Angeboten wird sehr helfen, sie zu integrieren und in ihrem zukünftigen Leben zu stärken.

Ziel der Architekten war es, ein offenes und einladendes Gebäude zu schaffen, das ein breites demografisches Publikum aus den unterschiedlichsten kulturellen Hintergründen, Geschlechtern, Altersgruppen und Interessen anspricht. Die Hemmschwelle zur aktiven Teilnahme sollte so niedrig wie möglich sein. Dies wurde durch ein transparentes Gebäude mit klarer Organisation erreicht. Streetmekka ist eine antielitäre, popkulturelle Mischung aus einer Sportstätte und einem Kulturhaus. Das Gebäude ist robust genug, 24 Stunden am Tag ohne Aufsicht für die Öffentlichkeit offen zu bleiben. Die Nutzer tragen die Verantwortung tragen und ergreifen die Initiative.

Synergie durch Überraschung

Das neue Streetmekka ist offen für alle und geeignet für alle. Es spielt keine Rolle, ob du teilnehmen, erschaffen, rumhängen oder beobachten willst – es gibt Raum für alles und für jeden. Die Koexistenz so vieler möglicher Aktivitäten unter einem Dach schafft jede Menge Synergien und neue soziale Beziehungen. Die Besucher werden neuen Arten von Aktivitäten geradezu ausgesetzt, von denen sie vielleicht gar nicht wussten, dass es sie gibt. Auch das fördert das zukünftige Engagement.

Die Labore und Werkstattbereiche ermöglichen es den Nutzern, die Anlage kontinuierlich weiterzuentwickeln und bei Bedarf neu zu konfigurieren. Streetmekka Viborg ist nicht statisch, weder programmatisch noch physisch. Es wird sich mit den Nutzern weiterentwickeln – sowohl kurzfristig (aufgrund der animierten Fassaden und der Straßenkunst) als auch langfristig (wenn neue Programme hinzugefügt und alte entfernt werden).

Straßenlandschaft

Das architektonische Konzept basiert auf der Idee einer Indoor-Straßenlandschaft. Streetmekka öffnet das introvertierte Industriegebäude und verwandelt den beeindruckenden Fabrikraum in eine nach außen offene, überdachte Straßenlandschaft.  Mit dem Streetscape-Konzept (dabei geht es um die sichtbaren Elemente im Straßenbild) werden die verschiedenen Funktionen definiert, organisiert und in Bezug zu spezifischen Anforderungen wie Tageslicht, Materialität und Temperatur gesetzt.

Das neue Volumen wurde mit einer lichtdurchlässigen Polycarbonathaut ummantelt. So entstand ein helles und einladendes Gebäude mit einer Fassade, die bei Bedarf als riesige Leinwand für die lokalen bildenden Künstler dient. Streetmekka unterscheidet sich damit deutlich von den umliegenden Industrieanlagen und kann und soll als Katalysator für das Stadtleben in der entstehenden Region wirken.

Die umgebende Landschaft mit Straßensportarten und kulturellen Angeboten wird zur natürlichen Erweiterung des Innenraums. Das alles befindet sich in einer erholsamen Grünanlage, die das Gelände über einen zukünftigen Fuß- und Radweg mit der Innenstadt verbindet.

Ein Drittel

Die Erhaltung der ursprünglichen Struktur und die Wiederverwendung und -verwertung von Materialien waren die Voraussetzung, um die Sanierung mit sehr geringem finanziellen Aufwand durchzuführen. Viele der ursprünglichen Einbauten wurden als Möbelelemente für die Parkour-Aktivitäten und Hangouts verwendet.

Die Endkosten des Gebäudes betragen etwa ein Drittel einer traditionellen Sporthalle. Ein Grund mehr…

PROJEKTDATEN

Architekt

EFFEKT
BLÅGÅRDSGADE 8 2 SAL
DK-2200 KØBENHAVN

Team

Luke Jouppi, Lars Pedersen, Jonathan Linde, Copenhagen Bouldering, Nørlum
BOGL landscape
Rambøll
Thomas Andersen A/S

Eröffnung

2018

Standort

GAME Streetmekka Viborg
Nellikevej 2
DK – 8800 Viborg

Luftbild

Danke, Google!

Fotograf

© EFFEKT / Rasmus Hjortshøj
Illustrationen: © EFFEKT

Autor

Effekt

FOTOS

PLÄNE

VIDEOS

About

„More Sports. More Architecture.“ bietet Architektur, Produkte, Ideen und Inspiration für Sport und Freizeit.
Dahinter steckt More Sports Media, eine PR-Agentur aus Bochum. Wir bieten Unterstützung bei Ihrer Öffentlichkeitsarbeit und bei all Ihren Publikationen: Wir texten, gestalten und publizieren. Wir kennen die Branche. Schon lange.
Probieren Sie uns aus.

Newsletter

Auch mal reinschauen?

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Have a closer look?

Please join our mailing list.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Durch die weitere Nutzung der Webseite stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zu. By continuing to use the website, you agree to the use of cookies. Weitere Informationen/More information

Die Cookie-Einstellungen auf dieser Website sind auf "Cookies zulassen" eingestellt, um das beste Surferlebnis zu ermöglichen. Wenn du diese Website ohne Änderung der Cookie-Einstellungen verwendest oder auf "Akzeptieren" klickst, erklärst du sich damit einverstanden.

Schließen