Glamorous Camping

SJCC Glamping Resort

Atelier Chang

Glamping

A radical take on the glamping concept has been launched in South Korea, offering guests the experience of being within a natural setting while enjoying the comfort of architecturally-designed, self-contained living spaces arranged around a communal facility.

Glamping is a portmanteau of glamorous and camping and describes a style of camping with amenities and, in some cases, resort-style services not usually associated with “traditional” camping. Glamping has become particularly popular with 21st-century tourists seeking the luxuries of hotel accommodation alongside the escapism and adventure recreation of camping.

This new ‘minimalist luxury’ resort – adjacent to the Seungju Country Club in Suncheon – consists of sixteen brightly-coloured living units with an associated reception/restaurant. Each unit offers guests approximately 50m² of living area, as well as two bedrooms and a kitchen and a bathroom manufactured as off-site units.

Situation

SJCC Glamping Resortis located some 300 kilometres south of Seoul within lush cypress forests and enjoys distant views over the Korean Strait. Drawing diverse references from natural elements such as the site’s dramatic topography, pebbles and fireflies, the resort offers guests a direct and vivid connection with their natural surroundings.

Careful orientation ensures that each unit is well-screened from surrounding units while offering guests dramatic views over Suncheon Ecological Bay. At night, the units – when illuminated from within – appear to form part of the forest’s natural organic layout.

Typology

Atelier Chang brings an innovative approach to the structural design of the glamping units. The light-weight steel frames, covered with an insulated tent-like fabric, create highly resilient structures which are capable of withstanding the region’s significant annual differences in climatic conditions.

The resort includes three principal types of glamping unit; ‘Mountain’, ‘Cutent’ and ‘Firefly’, each of which has a distinctive plan and colour scheme.

The striking restaurant/community facility forms the focal point of the resort. The restaurant and viewing terrace are screened by an elegant geometric arrangement of white steel louvres, mitigating solar ingress.

Construction

Key features of the project include:

  • Light steel frames are covered with a bespoke fabric made by French manufacturer Serge Ferari. The material is weather and fire resistant and tensioned at the base of the frame to fit the shape of an individual unit

  • Glazing elements are constructed from double layers of polycarbonate (for privacy), although glass can be used if required

  • Plumbing and electricity infrastructure is connected to the mains supply although the structures can use natural resources (rain water harvesting and PVs)

  • Foundations consist of concrete pillars with steel columns supporting the decking to which the structures are bolted.

SJCC Glamping Resort resort took three years to design and construct. The result is an architecturally spectacular resort for a growing target group – in a construction that is sophisticated right down to the last detail. The resort is able to withstand the demanding external conditions (-20 to +40° Celsius). The wait was worth it.

PROJECT DATA

Architect

Atelier Chang Ltd
Soohyun Chang, Carole Froidevaux, Jinman Choi, Ilia Varvaroussi

Client

POSTMATE / POSCO (SJCC Glamping)

Budget

1.560.000 €

Physical address

492-2 Songhak-ri
Byeollyang-myeon
Suncheon
Jeollanam-do
South Korea

Aerial view

Thank you, Google!

Opening

2018

Author

Johannes Bühlbecker
More Sports Media

Photos

Kyungsub Shin

PHOTOS

PLANS

VIDEO

About

“More Sports. More Architecture.” offers architecture, buildings, products, ideas and trends for sports and leisure.
We’re behind this: More Sports Media, a PR agency specializing in architecture, sports and leisure. We offer you support in your public relations work and in all your publications: Copywriting, Designing, Publishing.
We know the industry. Give us a try.

Newsletter

Auch mal reinschauen?

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Have a closer look?

Please join our mailing list.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Durch die weitere Nutzung der Webseite stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zu. By continuing to use the website, you agree to the use of cookies. Weitere Informationen/More information

Die Cookie-Einstellungen auf dieser Website sind auf "Cookies zulassen" eingestellt, um das beste Surferlebnis zu ermöglichen. Wenn du diese Website ohne Änderung der Cookie-Einstellungen verwendest oder auf "Akzeptieren" klickst, erklärst du sich damit einverstanden.

Schließen

Camping mit Glamour

Das SJCC Glamping Resort

Atelier Chang

Glamping

Der Begriff Glamping ist ein Kofferwort aus dem englischen „glamourous camping“. Es bezeichnet eine auf Luxus ausgerichtete Form des Campings. Die Ausstattung von Wohnwagen und Zelten sowie der angebotene Service sind dabei sehr hochwertig und sollen den Luxus-Ansprüchen einer zahlungskräftigen Zielgruppe entsprechen. Der Trend stammt aus den USA und Großbritannien.

In Südkorea eröffnete im Sommer 2018 ein Resort, dass dieses Konzept konsequent umsetzt. Das SJCC Glamping Resort bietet seinen Gästen pure Natur in Kombination mit komfortablen, architektonisch gestalteten Wohneinheiten, die um eine Gemeinschaftsanlage herum angeordnet sind.

Das neue, minimalistische Luxusresort – angrenzend an den Seungju Country Club in Suncheon – besteht aus sechzehn bunten Wohneinheiten mit angeschlossener Rezeption und Restaurant. Jede Einheit bietet seinen Gästen ca. 50 m² Wohnfläche mit zwei Schlafzimmern, Küche und Bad – alles aus Elementen von Zelt und Bungalow, alles über große Terrassen in direktem Kontakt mit der Außenwelt.

Lage

Das SJCC Glamping Resort liegt rund 300 Kilometer südlich von Seoul inmitten üppiger Zypressenwälder und bietet einen weiten Blick über die koreanische Meeresenge. Entwurf und Gestaltung von Atelier Chang (London) beziehen sich auf die dramatische Topographie des Ortes und auf natürliche Elemente wie Kieselsteine und Glühwürmchen. Das Resort bietet seinen Gästen eine direkte und lebendige Verbindung mit der reichlich vorhandenen Natur.

Die sorgfältige Ausrichtung der Anlage stellt sicher, dass jede Einheit gut von den umliegenden Einheiten abgeschirmt ist. Gleichzeitig bietet sich allen Gästen aus allen Einheiten der wunderbare Blick auf die Suncheon Ecological Bay. Nachts, wenn im Inneren das Licht „an“ ist, scheinen die Wohneinheiten ein bunter und lebhafter Teil des Waldes zu sein.

Typologie

Das Atelier Chang bringt einen innovativen Ansatz auch in die Konstruktion der Wohneinheiten ein: Leichte Stahlrahmen wurden mit isoliertem, zeltartigem Gewebe überzogen und bilden hochbelastbare Konstruktionen, die den erheblichen jährlichen klimatischen Unterschieden der Region standhalten.

Das Resort umfasst drei Haupttypen von Wohneinheiten: „Mountain“, „Cutent“ und „Firefly“. Jeder Typ bietet einen eigenen Grundriss und eine individuelle Farbgebung.

Das markante Gemeinschaftsgebäude mit Restaurant bildet den Mittelpunkt des Resorts. Das Restaurant und die Aussichtsterrasse werden durch elegant und geometrisch angeordnete weißen Stahllamellen geschützt, die den Sonneneinfall mindern.

Konstruktion

Zu den wichtigsten Merkmalen des Projekts gehören:

  • Die leichte Stahlkonstruktion, bezogen mit einem maßgeschneiderten Gewebe des französischen Herstellers Serge Ferari. Das Material ist witterungs- und feuerbeständig und passt sich der Form jeder einzelnen Einheit an.

  • Die Verglasungselemente bestehen aus doppelschichtigem Polycarbonat. Das schützt die Privatsphäre der Gäste. Bei Bedarf kann auch Glas verwendet werden.

  • Die Anlage ist technisch voll ausgestattet, inklusive der Nutzung natürlicher Ressourcen wie z.B. Regenwasser.

  • Die Fundamente bestehen aus Betonpfeilern mit aufgehenden Stahlstützen.

Das SJCC Glamping Resort benötigte drei Jahre für Planung und Bau. Heraus gekommen ist ein architektonisch spektakuläres Resort für eine wachsende Zielgruppe – in einer Konstruktion, die bis ins Detail ausgefeilt ist und den durchaus anspruchsvollen äußeren Bedingungen (-20 bis +40° Celsius) stand hält. Das Warten hat sich gelohnt.

PROJEKTDATEN

Architekt

Atelier Chang Ltd
Soohyun Chang, Carole Froidevaux, Jinman Choi, Ilia Varvaroussi

Bauherr

POSTMATE / POSCO (SJCC Glamping)

Budget

1.560.000 €

Standort

492-2 Songhak-ri
Byeollyang-myeon
Suncheon
Jeollanam-do
Südkorea

Luftbild

Danke, Google!

Eröffnung

2018

Autor

Johannes Bühlbecker
More Sports Media

Fotos

Kyungsub Shin

FOTOS

PLÄNE

VIDEO

About

„More Sports. More Architecture.“ bietet Architektur, Produkte, Ideen und Inspiration für Sport und Freizeit.
Dahinter steckt More Sports Media, eine PR-Agentur aus Bochum. Wir bieten Unterstützung bei Ihrer Öffentlichkeitsarbeit und bei all Ihren Publikationen: Wir texten, gestalten und publizieren. Wir kennen die Branche. Schon lange.
Probieren Sie uns aus.

Newsletter

Auch mal reinschauen?

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Have a closer look?

Please join our mailing list.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Durch die weitere Nutzung der Webseite stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zu. By continuing to use the website, you agree to the use of cookies. Weitere Informationen/More information

Die Cookie-Einstellungen auf dieser Website sind auf "Cookies zulassen" eingestellt, um das beste Surferlebnis zu ermöglichen. Wenn du diese Website ohne Änderung der Cookie-Einstellungen verwendest oder auf "Akzeptieren" klickst, erklärst du sich damit einverstanden.

Schließen