Full of life

La Esperanza School swimming pool in Puerto Rico

Fuster + Architects

La Esperanza School

La Esperanza School swimming pool is designed as a therapeutic facility to be used mainly by children with physical disabilities between the ages of 5 and 16 years. La Esperanza (Luis Pales Matos) School’s student population of 238 students has grown by 19% over five school years. The student:teacher ratio of 5:1is the lowest in Puerto Rico.

The facilities are open to the public but will be used primarily by students of La Esperanza School; thus the yellowish-green “verde esperanza” color of the exterior and the word “esperanza” (“hope”) written on the bottom of the main pool. This is the first structure of its kind in Puerto Rico.

Situation

The project is located in an unused parking lot adjacent to La Esperanza School. This location provides a connection between the pool and the school by means of a pedestrian passage that connects both sites. This location also helped to save the budget and provides space for a future expansion.

The protagonists of the space are the light and the sky. One of the most important intentions of the project was to create a unique space where natural light constantly transforms the atmosphere inside; creating a direct connection between the user and nature and facilitating the healing process.

Design

The design focuses on empowering the user, highlighting and promoting the spatial experience rather than the clinical requirements necessary for a therapeutic space, while still meeting all the requirements of universal design. This differentiates La Esperanza School swimming pool from other projects of its kind which tend to focus on highly visible clinical requirements such as ramps and handrails, putting in second place the user experience.

Every pool is treated as a courtyard; a prototypical Puerto Rican design element rooted in the colonial and vernacular architectures of the island. From within the pools the ceiling apertures with their tall cylindrical parapets frame the sky generating a direct relationship between users and the celestial sphere. This is important because children receive therapies while floating on their backs, looking upwards.

A welcoming atmosphere

The material used for construction is a structural concrete insulated panel composed of a thermally insulating foam core coated with structural mortar. This keeps the space at a comfortable temperature while the introverted design blocks exterior distractions while still allowing for ample natural light.

The cylindrical shapes and curves of La Esperanza School swimming pool accentuate the introverted and tranquil character of the space creating a relaxed and welcoming atmosphere for the therapies to occur. A small stream of water flowing into the main pool, while working as part of the filtration system, also generates a subtle splashing sound creating an atmosphere of tranquility, relaxation and peace. In contrast to the bright exterior the interior finishes are predominantly white and neutral, keeping with the calming therapeutic nature of the space.

PROJECT DATA

Architect

FUSTER + Architects
P.O. Box 9023387
San Juan
Puerto Rico

Team: Nataniel Fúster, Heather Crichfield, Sadie Winslow, Santiago Garramuño, José Pagán, Luis R. Albaladejo

Client

Municipality of San Juan
Bürgermeisterin Carmen Yulín Cruz
Puerto Rico

Building contractor

BIM Contractors

Physical address

La Esperanza
Calle 19 Ne Pto Nuevo
San Juan
PR 00921

Aerial view

Thank you, Google!

Opening

2015

Author

Fuster + Architects

Photos

FUSTER + Architects

PHOTOGRAPHS

VIDEO

About

“More Sports. More Architecture.” offers architecture, buildings, products, ideas and trends for sports and leisure.
We’re behind this: More Sports Media, a PR agency specializing in architecture, sports and leisure. We offer you support in your public relations work and in all your publications: Copywriting, Designing, Publishing.
We know the industry. Give us a try.

Newsletter

Auch mal reinschauen?

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Have a closer look?

Please join our mailing list.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Durch die weitere Nutzung der Webseite stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zu. By continuing to use the website, you agree to the use of cookies. Weitere Informationen/More information

Die Cookie-Einstellungen auf dieser Website sind auf "Cookies zulassen" eingestellt, um das beste Surferlebnis zu ermöglichen. Wenn du diese Website ohne Änderung der Cookie-Einstellungen verwendest oder auf "Akzeptieren" klickst, erklärst du sich damit einverstanden.

Schließen

Mitten im Leben

Das Schwimmbad der Schule La Esperanza in Puerto Rico

Fuster + Architects

La Esperanza

Das Schwimmbad der Schule La Esperanza in der puerto-ricanischen Hauptstadt San Juan ist als therapeutische Einrichtung konzipiert. Sie wird hauptsächlich von Kindern mit körperlichen Behinderungen im Alter zwischen fünf und 16 Jahren genutzt. Die Entwicklung der Schule (Luis Pales Matos) ist sehr erfreulich: Die Schülerzahl ist in fünf Schuljahren um 19% und auf 238 Schüler angewachsen. Das Schüler-Lehrer-Verhältnis von 5:1 ist das niedrigste in Puerto Rico.

Die Einrichtungen sind öffentlich zugänglich, werden aber in erster Linie von den Schülern der Schule genutzt. So erklären sich auch die gelblich-grüne Gestaltung (die Farbe heißt „verde esperanza“) und das Wort „esperanza“ („Hoffnung“) auf dem Boden des Hauptbeckens. Dies ist das erste Gebäude seiner Art in Puerto Rico.

Situation

Das Bad entstand auf einem ungenutzten Parkplatz neben der Schule. Eine Fußgängerpassage verbindet die Einrichtung mit der Schule. Dieser Standort ist auch wirtschaftlich sinnvoll. Darüber hinaus bietet er Raum für eine mögliche zukünftige Expansion.

Die Protagonisten des Entwurfs von Fuster + Architects sind das Licht und der Himmel. Die Einbeziehung des natürlichen Lichts und, damit verbunden, eine sich ständig verändernde Atmosphäre ist ein elementarer Bestandteil des Bades. Es entsteht eine direkte Verbindung zwischen dem Nutzer und der Natur, die den therapeutischen Prozess fördert.

Architektur fördert

Der Entwurf konzentriert sich auf die Förderung der Badegäste, auf ihr räumlichen Erleben und Wohlbefinden. Die klinischen Anforderungen, die für einen solchen therapeutischen Raum erforderlich sind, werden selbstverständlich erfüllt. Dies gilt auch für die Regeln des universellen Designs und der Inklusion. Gut sichtbare Ausstattungsmerkmale wie Rampen und Handläufe sind vorhanden, dominieren aber nicht den Raumeindruck. Dies unterscheidet das Schwimmbad der Schule La Esperanza von anderen Projekten seiner Art – und stärkt das Benutzererlebnis ganz erheblich.

Jeder Pool wird wie ein Innenhof behandelt; ein typisch puerto-ricanisches Designelement, das in der kolonialen und landestypischen Architektur der Insel verwurzelt ist. Aus den Becken heraus rahmen die Deckenöffnungen mit ihren hohen zylindrischen Brüstungen den Himmel ein und schaffen eine direkte Beziehung zwischen Nutzer und Himmel. Dies ist wichtig, denn Kinder erhalten Therapien, während sie im Wasser auf dem Rücken liegen und nach oben schauen.

Einladende Atmosphäre

Das für den Bau verwendete Material ist Strukturbeton mit einem wärmeisolierenden Schaumkern, der mit Strukturmörtel beschichtet ist. Diese Maßnahme wirkt sich günstig auf die Temperatur im Bad aus. Das introvertierte Design blockiert äußere Ablenkungen und „macht Platz“ für ausreichend natürliches Licht.

Die zylindrischen Formen und Kurven des Swimmingpools der Schule La Esperanza betonen den introvertierten und ruhigen Charakter des Raumes. Es entsteht eine entspannte und einladende Atmosphäre, die für jede Form von Therapie hilfreich ist. Ein kleiner Wasserstrom, der als Teil des Filtersystems in das Hauptbecken fließt, erzeugt ein subtiles, plätscherndes Geräusch. Auch solch kleine Maßnahmen unterstützen eine Atmosphäre der Ruhe und Entspannung.

Im Gegensatz zum hellen Äußeren (verde esperanza) ist der innenraum überwiegend weiß und neutral. Das ist beruhigend und therapeutisch, aber eben auch elegant und mitten im Leben.

PROJEKTDATEN

Architekt

FUSTER + Architects
P.O. Box 9023387
San Juan
Puerto Rico

Team: Nataniel Fúster, Heather Crichfield, Sadie Winslow, Santiago Garramuño, José Pagán, Luis R. Albaladejo

Bauherr

Municipality of San Juan
Bürgermeisterin Carmen Yulín Cruz
Puerto Rico

Bauunternehmen

BIM Contractors

Standort

La Esperanza
Calle 19 Ne Pto Nuevo
San Juan
PR 00921

Luftbild

Danke, Google!

Eröffnung

2015

Autor

Johannes Bühlbecker
More Sports Media

Fotos

FUSTER + Architects

FOTOS

VIDEO

About

„More Sports. More Architecture.“ bietet Architektur, Produkte, Ideen und Inspiration für Sport und Freizeit.
Dahinter steckt More Sports Media, eine PR-Agentur aus Bochum. Wir bieten Unterstützung bei Ihrer Öffentlichkeitsarbeit und bei all Ihren Publikationen: Wir texten, gestalten und publizieren. Wir kennen die Branche. Schon lange.
Probieren Sie uns aus.

Newsletter

Auch mal reinschauen?

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Have a closer look?

Please join our mailing list.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Durch die weitere Nutzung der Webseite stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zu. By continuing to use the website, you agree to the use of cookies. Weitere Informationen/More information

Die Cookie-Einstellungen auf dieser Website sind auf "Cookies zulassen" eingestellt, um das beste Surferlebnis zu ermöglichen. Wenn du diese Website ohne Änderung der Cookie-Einstellungen verwendest oder auf "Akzeptieren" klickst, erklärst du sich damit einverstanden.

Schließen