Always getting better

Kastrup Sea Bath

White arkitekter AB

The gem

Kastrup Sea Bath is one of many architectural gems of København’s Ørestad region. It is part of the Kastrup Strandpark waterfront park on the east coast of Amager. Conceived as a fully-accessible outdoor swimming facility, Kastrup Sea Bath transformed an overlooked brownfield site into one of Denmark’s most enchanting, recognisable and popular leisure destinations.

The snail

Affectionately known as ‘The Snail’, Kastrup Sea Bath consists of the pool enclosure, as well as a new beach and service building, complete with toilets and accessible changing room. The form was in response to the north-facing beach; a wooden pier stretches from shore and curves around to form a south-facing circular enclosure.

The pier

The pier gradually rises above the sea level and ends in a five metre diving platform. The circular shape creates a concentrated interior that provides shelter from the wind and the perfect retreat for swimming and sunbathing. A continuous bench runs along the pier, providing additional spaces for leisure and reflection.

Inclusion in 2005

Inclusion was an important part of the concept. Designed as an untraditional framework for outdoor sporting activities, Kastrup Sea Bath caters to peaceful evening swims, exercise or play, irrespective of age, or physical mobility needs. Ramps, and other special features allow less mobile visitors full access. All 870 square metres of wooden deck are at the visitors’ disposal. Kastrup is free of admission and open to the public at all times.

Designed for life

Kastrup’s dynamic sculptural form is a visible landmark from beach, sea and air. As a visitor moves around the bath, its silhouette constantly changes. The form itself is suggestive of an amphitheatre; from here, you can see and be seen; a rule worth being reminded of in busy communal pools.

Material

Constructed from Azobé, this African hardwood was selected due to its remarkable longevity and aesthetic qualities. Azobé shares the same lifespan as steel and is resistant to rot and woodworm, ensuring that Kastrup will be enjoyed by several generations to come.

At night

At night and during the long dark off-season, dramatic lighting emphasises the sculptural design, heightening the visitors’ aesthetic experience, as well as securing their safety. A series of large uplights illuminate the enclosure and is reflected from the interior walls, gently washing the whole basin space with warm white light. This warmth contrasts with the electric blue lighting behind the open staircase and diving platform. Dual lines of LED spotlights stud the pier walkway, facilitating easier navigation in the dark.

Awards

Kastrup Sea Bath has been awarded a “Honourable mention” at the Architectural Review Award for Emerging Architecture 2006. It was nominated for The Mies van der Rohe Award 2007 and won a  Bronze medal and a special prize at the IOC/IAKS Award and IPC/IAKS Distinction in 2009.

Looking at current pictures of the bath in the social media, one has to say that the Kastrup Sea Bath would have deserved even more prizes.

PROJECT DATA

Architect

White arkitekter AB
Östgötagatan 100
Box 4700
116 92 Stockholm
Sweden

Client

Tårnby community

Photos

Author

White arkitekter AB

Physical address

Kastrup Sea Bath
Amager Strandvej 301
2770 Kastrup
Denmark

Opening

2005

Aerial view

Thank you, Google!

VIDEOS

About

“More Sports. More Architecture.” offers architecture, buildings, products, ideas and trends for sports and leisure.
We’re behind this: More Sports Media, a PR agency specializing in architecture, sports and leisure. We offer you support in your public relations work and in all your publications: Copywriting, Designing, Publishing.
We know the industry. Give us a try.

Newsletter

Auch mal reinschauen?

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Have a closer look?

Please join our mailing list.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Durch die weitere Nutzung der Webseite stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zu. By continuing to use the website, you agree to the use of cookies. Weitere Informationen/More information

Die Cookie-Einstellungen auf dieser Website sind auf "Cookies zulassen" eingestellt, um das beste Surferlebnis zu ermöglichen. Wenn du diese Website ohne Änderung der Cookie-Einstellungen verwendest oder auf "Akzeptieren" klickst, erklärst du sich damit einverstanden.

Schließen

Seite auswählen

Das wird ja immer schöner

Das Kastrup Sea Bath bei Kopenhagen

White arkitekter AB

Das Juwel

Das Kastrup Sea Bath ist eines von vielen architektonischen Juwelen der Ørestad-Region von Kobenhagen. Das Meeresbad ist Teil des Kastrup Strandparks an der Ostküste von Amager. Es wurde bereits im Jahr 2005 als inklusive Freibadanlage konzipiert und verwandelte eine vergessene Brachfläche in eines der bezauberndsten, bekanntesten und beliebtesten Freizeitziele Dänemarks.

Die Schnecke

Das Kastrup Sea Bath wird auch „Die Schnecke“ genannt. Es besteht aus einer Schwimmbadüberdachung sowie einem Strand- und Dienstleistungsgebäude mit Toiletten und Umkleideraum. Die Form war die Antwort auf den nach Norden ausgerichteten Strand; ein hölzerner Pier erstreckt sich vom Ufer aus ins Wasser und windet sich um diesen herum. So entsteht ein nach Süden ausgerichtetes, rundes Gebilde.

Der Pier

Der Pier erhebt sich langsam über den Meeresspiegel und endet in einer fünf Meter hohen Sprungbühne. Die runde Form schafft einen konzentrierten Innenraum, der Schutz vor dem Wind und den perfekten Rückzugsort zum Schwimmen und Sonnenbaden bietet. Am Pier entlang verläuft eine durchgehende Bank, die zusätzliche Freiräume für Freizeit und Reflexion bietet.

Die Inklusion im Jahr 2005

Inklusion war auch zu Beginn des Jahrtausends schon ein wichtiger Teil des Konzepts. Das Kastrup Sea Bath wurde als unkonventioneller Rahmen für Outdoor-Sportarten konzipiert. Es eignet sich für ruhiges Abendschwimmen genau so wie für Bewegung oder Spiel – unabhängig vom Alter und von körperlicher Mobilität. Rampen und andere Sonderfunktionen ermöglichen auch den weniger mobilen Besuchern den vollen Zugriff auf jeden einzelnen der 870 Quadratmeter Holzdeck. Das Kastrup Sea Bath ist jederzeit für die Öffentlichkeit frei zugänglich.

Nachhaltiges Wahrzeichen

Die einzigartige, dynamische und skulpturale Form des Kastrup Sea Bath ist ein sichtbares Wahrzeichen von Strand, Meer und Luft. Die Silhouette des Bades verändert sich ständig, mit fast jeder Bewegung. Die Form selbst erinnert an ein Amphitheater. Von hier aus kann man sehen und gesehen werden; ein Umstand, an den man sich bei der Nutzung solch belebter und beliebter Anlagen stets erinnern sollte.

Das Material

Azobé ist ein afrikanisches Hartholz. Es wurde aufgrund seiner außergewöhnlichen Langlebigkeit und Ästhetik ausgewählt. Azobé hat die gleiche Lebensdauer wie Stahl und ist resistent gegen Fäulnis und Holzwurm, so dass das Kastrup Sea Bath von mehreren kommenden Generationen genossen werden kann.

Die Nacht

In der Nacht und in der langen, dunklen Nebensaison betont die dramatische Beleuchtung das skulpturale Design und erhöht das ästhetische Erlebnis – und die Sicherheit. Eine Reihe von großen Deckenleuchten erhellen das Gehäuse. Das Licht wird von den Wänden reflektiert und taucht den gesamten Beckenraum sanft in warmweißes Licht. Im Kontrast dazu werden die offenen Treppe und die Sprungbühne durch am Steg befestigte, blau leuchtende LED-Strahler inszeniert.

Awards

Das Kastrup Sea Bath erhielt im Jahr 2006 den Architectural Review Award for Emerging Architecture. Ein Jahr später wurde das Bad für den Mies van der Rohe Award nominiert, 2009 gewann es den IOC/IAKS Award und den IPC/IAKS Sonderpreis.

Und wenn man sich aktuelle Bilder des Bades in den sozialen Medien ansieht, dann muss man sagen: Das Kastrup Sea Bath hätte noch viel mehr Preise verdient.

PROJEKTDATEN

Architekt

White arkitekter AB
Östgötagatan 100
Box 4700
116 92 Stockholm
Schweden

Bauherr

Verwaltung von Tårnby

Autor

Johannes Bühlbecker
More Sports Media

Standort

Kastrup Sea Bath
Amager Strandvej 301
2770 Kastrup
Dänemark

Eröffnung

2005

Luftbild

Danke, Google!

VIDEOS

About

„More Sports. More Architecture.“ bietet Architektur, Produkte, Ideen und Inspiration für Sport und Freizeit.
Dahinter steckt More Sports Media, eine PR-Agentur aus Bochum. Wir bieten Unterstützung bei Ihrer Öffentlichkeitsarbeit und bei all Ihren Publikationen: Wir texten, gestalten und publizieren. Wir kennen die Branche. Schon lange.
Probieren Sie uns aus.

Newsletter

Auch mal reinschauen?

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Have a closer look?

Please join our mailing list.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Durch die weitere Nutzung der Webseite stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zu. By continuing to use the website, you agree to the use of cookies. Weitere Informationen/More information

Die Cookie-Einstellungen auf dieser Website sind auf "Cookies zulassen" eingestellt, um das beste Surferlebnis zu ermöglichen. Wenn du diese Website ohne Änderung der Cookie-Einstellungen verwendest oder auf "Akzeptieren" klickst, erklärst du sich damit einverstanden.

Schließen