Select Page

In the jungle, the concrete jungle…

French International School of Hong Kong

by Henning Larsen Architects

Just above street level

In the concrete jungle of Hong Kong, the new campus of the French International School stands as a vibrant green oasis in the dense city. 1,100 pupils now enjoy a colorful, collaborative multicultural learning space, setting the scene for the working environment of tomorrow.

Just above street level in Hong Kong’s Tseung Kwan O district, sunlight meets the kaleidoscopic façade of the new French International School campus, spilling into the building through windows laid across a grid of 627 multicolored tiles. From the street, this colorful façade draws the eye to the institution’s new primary and secondary school – A vibrant, sustainable environment supporting a world-class multicultural education.

Architects

Henning Larsen Architects
Room A, 10/F, Yardley Building
3 Connaught Road West
Hong Kong

Client & User

Dissolving classrooms

Completed in September 2018, the 19,600 m² new French International School creates an open and active learning environment that place the school at the forefront of pedagogical innovation in Hong Kong.

Architects Henning Larsen dissolved the traditional classrooms and pushed boundaries on how learning spaces can allow teachers and classes to work together in a more collaborative open space.

Address

French International School of Hong Kong
28 Tong Yin St
Tseung Kwan O
Hongkong

Aerial view

Villa and Agora

In the Primary School section, the traditionally enclosed classrooms with corridors merge together in a series of large open plan spaces called Villas, each with 125 pupils in the same age group.

Teachers can open their classes up to each other and share a central space called the Agora, where group activities unfold. Here, classes from both streams of the school (French and International) can collaborate and develop group projects together; preparing for the work environments of tomorrow.

Feedback

8 + 6 =

Sustainable agenda

Green in form and function, the campus sets an example in sustainability. The building form and the façade designs are optimized to respond to the local climate and to decrease energy consumption and increase comfort by passive means.

Strategic use of daylight also supports the sustainable vision. The campus offers ample daylight in all of its spaces. In the sunny tropics, this means careful orientation of windows and robust sun shading.

All the classrooms face North or South to avoid the punitive low sun from East and West, and the deep brise-soleil shade the façade to avoid any direct sunlight into the spaces. The light is generous and homogenous throughout the day. The brise-soleils entirely removes the need for blinds or curtains and enables a clearer glass to be used, thus providing a more natural color of daylight in interior spaces.

Opening

2018

Photographs

Text

Henning Larsen Architects

Vegetation

Natural vegetation is crucial to the campus’ green function. Forty-two trees, a plant covered perimeter fence, multi-story hanging gardens and a 550 square meter botanical garden planted with native South Chinese vegetation are among the green spaces that establish the school as a lush garden within urban Hong Kong.

As the vegetation improves air quality within the urban setting, ventilation systems utilize natural breezes to circulate fresh air through the building and reduce reliance on air conditioning. With ample opportunity to study, play among and cultivate these gardens, students are able to gain hands-on experience with the region’s natural vegetation, fostering a sense of environmental stewardship and a practical education in sustainability.

Video

The loop

A vegetated perimeter fence establishes the school as an urban green space, part of a network of planted space within the campus. A 400 meter-long track called “The Loop” winds its way throughout the campus playgrounds, and inclines through the Native Garden, giving students the opportunity to study stratified layers of native South Chinese plant species with the sensation of climbing up through a forest canopy. In total, 42 native trees grow within the campus.

Your project

Are you in need of support when publishing your projects?

projects@moresports.network

Or give us a call:

0049 234 5466 0374

Multicultural design

The multicolored ceramic tiles covering the French International School’s distinctive façade are a material representation of the environment within. A spectrum of colors, the tile design gives sustainable form and a multicultural vision to the campus, supporting its mission of a forward-thinking, international education.

Offering five languages to a student body representing 40 nationalities, the French International School is an active cultural crossroad. Outside of school hours the campus also acts as a quiet and green oasis in a city with a scarcity of space. Ground floor facilities, including the gymnasium, exhibition areas, canteen and playground, can be opened to the public – allowing the school to operate on evenings and weekends as a beacon for French culture.

Video

Refuge

With over seven million residents, the towering concrete and constant activity of urban Hong Kong presents a challenge to creating effective learning spaces. For some 1,100 students, the French International School’s Tseung Twan O creates a green refuge within the big city.

Although situated in a more densely urban setting than other campuses of the French International School, our new Tsueng Kwan O location stands out in its inclusion of healthful green spaces. The outcome is a flourishing, vibrant learning space that makes room for students to collaborate and grow within the city.

Advert

PHOTOGRAPHS

About us

More Sports Media

Johannes Bühlbecker, founder

Johannes Bühlbecker is an architect and has worked, among others, for International Association for Sports and Leisure Facilities (IAKS) for 15 years – as editorial director of the renowned trade magazine “sb”, in the organisation and realisation of international architectural competitions with IOC and IPC, in trade fairs and conventions, as head of the “NRW Beratungsstelle Sportstätten“ (“NRW Advice Centre for Sports Facilities”) and as a lecturer at the German Sport University Cologne.

  • Dipl.-Ing. (engineering degree) Architect, TU Berlin
  • Longtime editorial head with “sb”, an international journal for the architecture of sports
  • Training in web design, online marketing, etc.
  • International architectural competitions with IOC and IPC
  • Trade fair and congress organisation
  • Head of the “NRW Beratungsstelle Sportstätten“ (“NRW Advice Centre for Sports Venues”)
  • Lecturer at the German Sport University Cologne
  • Planning of the Prussian Stadium in Münster (for großmann engineers, Göttingen)
  • Replanning a football stadium in Berlin-Köpenick
  • Numerous publications, i.a. “From Round Leather to Soap Bubbles – The Development of Football and its Architecture”
  • Board member and youth coach at SV BW Weitmar 09

Contact

Phone

+(49) 234 5466 0374

Mail

contact@moresports.network

Address

More Sports Media
Am Weitkamp 17
D-44795 Bochum

Visit our Instagram account

[et_pb_df_instagram_feed id=”more_sports_media” num=”12″ cols=”6″ showheader=”on” headercolor=”#88b14b” width=”80″ imagepadding=”3″ followtext=”Folgen Sie uns” _builder_version=”3.21.4″][/et_pb_df_instagram_feed]

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Weg mit den Klassenzimmern!

French International School in Hong Kong

von Henning Larsen Architects

In the jungle, the concrete jungle…

Im Betondschungel von Hongkong steht der neue Campus der French International School als leuchtend grüne Oase in einer Metropole mit mehr als sieben Millionen Einwohnern. 1.100 von ihnen genießen nun als Schülerinnen und Schüler einen bunten, kollaborativen und multikulturellen Lernalltag. 

Direkt über dem Straßenniveau im Stadtteil Tseung Kwan O trifft das Sonnenlicht auf die kaleidoskopische Fassade und dringt durch Fenster, die über ein Raster von 627 bunten Fliesen gelegt wurden, in das Gebäude ein. Von der Straße aus lenkt diese farbenfrohe Fassade den Blick auf die neue Grund- und Sekundarschule der Institution – eine lebendige, nachhaltige Umgebung, die eine multikulturelle Bildung unterstützt.

Architekt

Henning Larsen Architects
Room A, 10/F, Yardley Building
3 Connaught Road West
Hongkong

Bauherr & Nutzer

Weg mit den Klassenzimmern

Die 19.600 m² große neue French International School, die im September 2018 fertig gestellt wurde, schafft eine offene und aktive Lernumgebung, die die Schule an die Spitze der pädagogischen Innovation in Hongkong bringt.

Die Architekten Henning Larsen haben die traditionellen Klassenzimmer aufgelöst und Grenzen verschoben. Entstanden sind Lernräume, die es Lehrern und Schülern ermöglichen, in einem mehr gemeinschaftlichen Rahmen zusammenzuarbeiten.

Adresse

French International School of Hong Kong
28 Tong Yin St
Tseung Kwan O
Hongkong

Luftbild

Villa und Agora

Im Bereich der Grundschule verschmelzen die traditionell geschlossenen Klassenzimmer mit Gängen zu einer Reihe von großen offenen Räumen, den sogenannten Villen, mit jeweils 125 Schülern der gleichen Altersgruppe.

Lehrer können ihre Klassen zueinander öffnen und sich einen zentralen Raum namens Agora teilen, in dem sich Gruppenaktivitäten entfalten. Hier können Klassen aus beiden Bereichen der Schule (Französisch und International) zusammenarbeiten und gemeinsam Gruppenprojekte entwickeln.

Feedback

3 + 15 =

Nachhaltige Agenda

Der Campus ist grün in Form und Funktion. Die Gebäudeform und die Fassadengestaltung sind optimiert, um auf das lokale Klima zu reagieren, den Energieverbrauch zu senken und den Komfort ohne energetischen Aufwand zu erhöhen.

Die strategische Nutzung des Tageslichts unterstützt den planerischen Willen zur Nachhaltigkeit. Der Campus bietet in allen Bereichen ausreichend Tageslicht. In dieser tropischen Klimazone bedeutet das eine sorgfältige Ausrichtung der Fenster und einen robusten Sonnenschutz.

Alle Klassenzimmer sind nach Norden oder Süden ausgerichtet, um der niedrig stehenden Sonne aus Ost und West zu entgehen. Die tiefe Brise-Soleil-Schicht verschattet die Fassade, um direktes Sonnenlicht in den Räumen zu vermeiden. Die Brise-Soleil-Schicht macht Jalousien oder Vorhänge überflüssig und ermöglicht die Verwendung eines ungefärbten Glases, wodurch ein natürliches Tageslicht im Inneren entsteht.

Eröffnung

2018

Fotos

Text

Henning Larsen Architects

Vegetation

Die natürliche Vegetation ist entscheidend für Klima und Wohlbefinden auf dem Campus. 42 Bäume, ein pflanzengedeckter Zaun, mehrgeschossige Hängegärten und ein 550 m² großer botanischer Garten mit einheimischer südchinesischer Vegetation gehören zu den Grünanlagen, welche die French International School als üppigen Garten im städtischen Hongkong etablieren.

Da die Vegetation die Luftqualität verbessert, nutzen Lüftungssysteme natürliche Brisen, um Frischluft durch das Gebäude zirkulieren zu lassen und die Abhängigkeit von Klimaanlagen zu reduzieren. Die Schülerinnen und Schüler haben die Möglichkeit, diese Gärten zu studieren, zu pflegen und natürlich auch dort zu spielen. Sie können praktische Erfahrungen mit der natürlichen Vegetation der Region sammeln und so ein Gefühl für Natur und Nachhaltigkeit entwickeln – in Metropolen wie Hongkong ist das keine Selbstverständlichkeit.

Video

Der Loop

Ein begrünter Zaun definiert die Schule als städtische Grünfläche und ist Teil eines grünen Netzwerks innerhalb des Campus. Ein 400 Meter langer Pfad namens „The Loop“ schlängelt sich entlang dieser Grünflächen und den Spielplätzen des Campus. Er führt auch durch den Native Garden, wo die Schüler die Möglichkeit haben, einheimische südchinesische Pflanzenarten zu studieren. Insgesamt 42 einheimische Bäume wachsen auf dem Campus. Der Loop besucht sie alle.

Ihr Projekt

Suchen Sie Unterstützung bei der Veröffentlichung Ihrer Projekte?

projects@moresports.network

Oder rufen Sie uns an:

0049 234 5466 0374

Multikultureller Leuchtturm

Die mehrfarbigen Keramikfliesen, die der unverwechselbaren Fassade der French International School ihren Charakter geben, sind auch im Inneren deutlich spürbar. Das Spektrum an Farben und das Design der Fliesen geben dem Campus eine nachhaltige Form und eine multikulturelle Vision.

Mit fünf Sprachen für eine Schülerschaft aus 40 Nationen ist die French International School ein aktiver kultureller Schmelztiegel. Auch außerhalb der Schulzeit fungiert der Campus als ruhige und grüne Oase in einer Stadt mit wenig Platz. Die Einrichtungen im Erdgeschoss, darunter die Sporthalle, die Ausstellungsbereiche, die Kantine und der Spielplatz, können für die Öffentlichkeit geöffnet werden, so dass die Schule abends und am Wochenende als Leuchtturm für die französische Kultur fungieren kann.

Video

Oase

Mit über sieben Millionen Einwohnern stellt die betonierte Realität des städtischen Hongkongs eine riesige Herausforderung für die Schaffung effektiver Lernräume dar. Für rund 1.100 Schüler bietet die französische International School Tseung Twan O nun eine grüne Zuflucht in der Großstadt.

Henning Larsen Architects haben auf einem anspruchsvollem Grundstück einen blühenden, lebendigen Lernraum geschaffen, der den Schülern Raum für die Zusammenarbeit und für ihre Entwicklung innerhalb der Stadt bietet.

Werbung

FOTOS

Über uns

More Sports Media

Johannes Bühlbecker, Gründer von More Sports Media

Johannes Bühlbecker ist Architekt und hat unter anderem 15 Jahre lang für die Internationale Vereinigung Sport- und Freizeiteinrichtungen (IAKS) gearbeitet – als Redaktionsleiter der renommierten Fachzeitschrift „sb“, in der Organisation und Durchführung internationaler Architekturwettbewerbe mit IOC und IPC, im Messe- und Kongresswesen, als Leiter der „NRW Beratungsstelle Sportstätten“ und als Lehrbeauftragter an der Deutschen Sporthochschule Köln.

  • Dipl.-Ing. Architekt
  • Langjähriger Redaktionsleiter „sb“, Internationale Fachzeitschrift für die Architektur des Sports
  • Fortbildungen im Bereich Web-Design, Online-Marketing usw.
  • Internationale Architekturwettbewerbe mit IOC und  IPC
  • Messe- und Kongressorganisation
  • Leiter der „NRW Beratungsstelle Sportstätten“
  • Lehrbeauftragter an der Deutschen Sporthochschule Köln
  • Planung des Preußen-Stadions in Münster (für großmann ingenieure, Göttingen)
  • Neuplanung eines Fußballstadions in Berlin-Köpenick
  • Zahlreiche Publikationen, u.a. „Vom runden Leder zur Seifenblase – Die Entwicklung des Fußballs und seiner Architektur“
  • Vorstandsmitglied und Jugendtrainer beim SV BW Weitmar 09

Kontakt

Telefon

+(49) 234 5466 0374

Mail

contact@moresports.network

Adresse

More Sports Media
Am Weitkamp 17
D-44795 Bochum

Besuchen Sie uns auf Instagram

[instagram-feed id='more_sports_media' num='12' sortby='none' cols='6' imageres='auto' showheader='true' headercolor='#88b14b' width='80' widthunit='%' heightunit='%' imagepadding='3' disablelightbox='true' disablemobile='true' carousel='false' showbutton='true' buttontext='Load More Photos' showcaption='false' showlikes='false' showfollow='true' followtext='Folgen Sie uns'/]

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Durch die weitere Nutzung der Webseite stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zu. By continuing to use the website, you agree to the use of cookies. Weitere Informationen/More information

Die Cookie-Einstellungen auf dieser Website sind auf "Cookies zulassen" eingestellt, um das beste Surferlebnis zu ermöglichen. Wenn du diese Website ohne Änderung der Cookie-Einstellungen verwendest oder auf "Akzeptieren" klickst, erklärst du sich damit einverstanden.

Schließen