From silver to gold

Cradle to Cradle

The vision behind Cradle to Cradle is a world in which manufacturers design their products for a circular economy.

Advancing to Gold level is primarily the result of Troldtekt introducing new paint recipes in production.

After ten years of Cradle to Cradle certification at Silver level, the entire range of Troldtekt cement-bonded wood wool acoustic solutions has now advanced to Gold level. The vision behind Cradle to Cradle is a world in which manufacturers design their products for a circular economy – in other words where the materials can be reintroduced in new cycles.

Advancing to Gold level is primarily the result of Troldtekt introducing new paint recipes in production.

The switch to the new paint type means that Troldtekt is moving up two levels – from Silver to Platinum – within material health, which is one of the five categories of criteria counting towards Cradle to Cradle certification. And as Troldtekt is already at Gold or Platinum level in the other four categories, it triggers overall certification at Gold level. The certification is officially valid from 1 March 2022.

“It’s not just a small corner of our range that is now Cradle to Cradle-certified at Gold level – it is the entire range of Troldtekt cement-bonded wood wool products.”
Tina Snedker Kristensen

“More than a decade ago, we chose to base our business strategy on the Cradle to Cradle principles. Since then, we have optimised our production by switching to renewable energy, by systematically recycling waste and much more. Material health, and specifically the preservatives in the paint, have been the only barrier to achieving Gold certification. Therefore, the new paint recipes represent quite a milestone for us,” says Tina Snedker Kristensen, Head of Sustainability and Communications at Troldtekt A/S.
“It’s not just a small corner of our range that is now Cradle to Cradle-certified at Gold level – it is the entire range of Troldtekt cement-bonded wood wool products in either natural wood or painted in our standard colours white, grey and black. The certification also covers our design series and our brand new carbon-negative acoustic panels based on the cement type FUTURECEM™,” she adds.
In practice, the systematic work with Cradle to Cradle means that Troldtekt possesses in-depth knowledge of all the ingredients in the acoustic panels, right down to 100 parts per million. Analyses have shown that the panels do not contain any substances which are harmful to humans or the environment. Healthy ingredients are a prerequisite for being able to reintroduce products into new biological and technical cycles. And healthy cycles are the backbone of the circular economy.

“After lengthy discussions with our paint suppliers, we’ve now arrived at a new and durable paint recipe which contains no harmful biocides.”
Vibeke Pedersen

The preservatives – biocides – in the paint for the acoustic panels have so far stood in the way of achieving Cradle to Cradle certification at Gold level. However, recipes have now been successfully developed that use newer and more sustainable preservation technology.

“Preservatives are necessary to avoid having to discard large quantities of paint due to spoiling and frequent colour changes in production.” explains Vibeke Pedersen, Head of Engineering Department at Troldtekt A/S.

“Since installing our new paint facility in 2016, we have collected and recycled excess paint – or ‘overspray’ as it is called – from our spray booths, which has cut the amount of paint we waste by 70 per cent.”
“If we removed the preservatives, we would no longer be able to use the overspray due to microbial attacks. And this would result in total waste of approx. 200,000 litres of paint a year.”
“After lengthy discussions with our paint suppliers, we’ve now arrived at a new and durable paint recipe which contains no harmful biocides. However, the new paint is still sufficiently durable for the overspray to be recycled. This has required product development and extensive testing of the recipes in our production. So, a lot of hard work has paved the way for our certification at Gold level,” she says.

Project data

Supplier

Troldtekt GmbH
Friesenweg 4 · Haus 12
D – 22763 Hamburg

Author

Dipl.-Ing. Architekt Olaf Wiechers
Büro für Architektur  +  Mediendienstleistungen
Klaus-Groth-Str. 1
D – 21629 Neu Wulmstorf

(Advertorial)

Photograph

Olaf Wiechers
Helene Høyer Mikkelsen (Bild 3)

You may have more of this.

Social Media

Follow us!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Von Silber auf Gold

Cradle to Cradle

Die Vision hinter Cradle to Cradle ist eine Welt, in der Hersteller ihre Produkte für die Kreislaufwirtschaft entwickeln.

Die Heraufstufung auf Gold ist in erster Linie darauf zurückzuführen, dass Troldtekt neue Farbrezepturen in der Produktion verwendet.

Nach zehn Jahren mit der Cradle to Cradle-Zertifizierung in Silber ist die gesamte Serie der Akustiklösungen von Troldtekt aus HWL-Material jetzt mit Gold bewertet. Die Vision hinter Cradle to Cradle ist eine Welt, in der Hersteller ihre Produkte für die Kreislaufwirtschaft entwickeln – eine Welt also, in der Materialien immer wieder recycelt werden.

Die Heraufstufung auf Gold ist in erster Linie darauf zurückzuführen, dass Troldtekt neue Farbrezepturen in der Produktion verwendet.

Durch die Umstellung auf die neue Farbe wird Troldtekt im Bereich „Materialgesundheit“ – eine der fünf Kriterienkategorien in der Cradle to Cradle-Zertifizierung – sogar um zwei Niveaus heraufgestuft, nämlich von Silber auf Platin. Und da Toldtekt in den anderen vier Kategorien ohnehin bereits Gold oder Platin erreicht hatte, lautet die Gesamtzertifizierung jetzt auf Gold. Die Zertifizierung gilt offiziell seit dem 1. März 2022.

Es ist nicht nur ein Ausschnitt des Sortiments, der jetzt nach Cradle to Cradle Gold zertifiziert ist, sondern die gesamte Palette an Holzwolle-Leichtbauprodukten.

„Vor mehr als einem Jahrzehnt haben wir beschlossen, unsere Geschäftsstrategie auf den Cradle to Cradle-Prinzipien aufzubauen. Seitdem haben wir unsere Produktion optimiert, indem wir auf erneuerbare Energien umgestellt haben, Abfälle systematisch recyceln und vieles mehr. Die Materialgesundheit und insbesondere die Konservierungsstoffe in der Farbe waren lange das letzte Hindernis für die Erlangung einer Gold-Zertifizierung. Deshalb sind die neuen Farbrezepturen ein Meilenstein für uns“, sagt Tina Snedker Kristensen, Leiterin Nachhaltigkeit und Kommunikation bei Troldtekt A/S.

„Es ist nicht nur ein Ausschnitt unseres Sortiments, der jetzt nach Cradle to Cradle Gold zertifiziert ist, sondern vielmehr die gesamte Palette an Holzwolle-Leichtbauprodukten von Troldtekt, sowohl in Natur als auch mit Anstrich in unseren Standardfarben Weiß, Grau und Schwarz. Das schließt unsere Designserie und unsere brandneuen CO2-negativen Akustikplatten auf Basis des Zementtyps FUTURECM™ mit ein“, so Kristensen.

In der Praxis bedeutet die systematische Cradle to Cradle-Arbeit, dass Troldtekt alle Inhaltsstoffe seiner Akustikplatten bis auf das hundertmillionste Teil kennt. Die chemischen Analysen zeigen, dass die Platten keine Stoffe enthalten, die für Mensch und Umwelt schädlich sind. Gesunde, unbedenkliche Inhaltsstoffe sind die Voraussetzung für die Einbindung von Produkten in die biologischen und technischen Kreisläufe. Und gesunde Kreisläufe sind die Grundvoraussetzung für die Kreislaufwirtschaft.

„Nach einem längeren Dialog mit unseren Farblieferanten haben wir jetzt eine neue, haltbare Farbrezeptur entwickelt, die ohne Biozide auskommt.“
Vibeke Pedersen, Technische Leiterin der Troldtekt A/S

Die konservierenden Inhaltsstoffe in den Farben (die Biozide), mit denen ein Teil der Akustikplatten behandelt wird, waren lange Zeit ein Hindernis für die Erlangung einer Cradle to Cradle-Zertifizierung in Gold.  Jetzt ist es jedoch gelungen, Rezepturen zu entwickeln, die in einer neuen, nachhaltigeren Konservierungstechnologie fußen.

„Die Konservierungsstoffe waren notwendig, um zu vermeiden, dass große Mengen Farbe aufgrund kurzer Haltbarkeit und häufiger Farbumstellungen in unserer Produktion entsorgt werden mussten“ erklärt Vibeke Pedersen, Technische Leiterin der Troldtekt A/S.

„Seit der Installation einer neuen Farbanlage im Jahr 2016 konnten wir überschüssige Farbe – man nennt das Overspray – auffangen und wiederverwenden. So konnten wir den Ausschuss von Farbe um 70 Prozent verringern.“

„Ohne die Konservierungsstoffe hätten wir die aufgefangene Farbe nicht wiederverwenden können, sie wäre schnell von Pilz oder Fäule befallen worden. Schätzungen zufolge wären so 200.000 Liter Farbe pro Jahr verloren gegangen“, 

„Nach einem längeren Dialog mit unseren Farblieferanten haben wir jetzt eine neue, haltbare Farbrezeptur entwickelt, die ohne Biozide auskommt. Die neue Farbe ist ausreichend haltbar, um das Overspray auffangen und wiederverwenden zu können. Dazu waren eine intensive Produktentwicklung und umfassende Tests der Rezepturen in unserer Produktion erforderlich. Es steckt also viel gründliche Arbeit dahinter, dass wir jetzt die Zertifizierung in Gold erhalten haben.“

Projektdaten

Hersteller

Troldtekt GmbH
Friesenweg 4 · Haus 12
D – 22763 Hamburg

Autor

Dipl.-Ing. Architekt Olaf Wiechers
Büro für Architektur  +  Mediendienstleistungen
Klaus-Groth-Str. 1
D – 21629 Neu Wulmstorf

(Advertorial)

Fotograf

Olaf Wiechers
Helene Høyer Mikkelsen (Bild 3)

Abonnieren Sie unseren

Social Media

Folgen Sie uns!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This