Pyramids in the Port of Copenhagen

Waterfront Cultural Center
Kengo Kuma & Associates mit Cornelius Vöge, Søren Jensen und Niels Sigsgaardn

Situation

Kengo Kuma & Associates, in collaboration with Cornelius Vöge, Søren Jensen engineers and Niels Sigsgaard, won the competition to design a Waterfront Cultural Center for Copenhagen. Their project combines facilities for leisure and sports associations and harbour baths in a new and original way.

The new Waterfront Cultural Center with harbor baths at Paper Island is to highlight the significance of water in the history, culture and vibrant urban life in Copenhagen. The harbor is the gate contributing greatly to the city’s development. The waterfront has become the foreground and the background for major cultural facilities and the quality open public area that defines the urban life in the city.

The design focus is to create an experience, and not just a standalone object, in the form of the landscape, art and architecture that are unified and defined by the water. The design proposal strives to offer the diverse experiences of water in various states and conditions such as reflection of light and shadow, steam and flow that appeal to human senses.

Urban approach

The project takes place in the larger development plan of the island. Its architectural form in a series of pyramid shape is in response to the masterplan guideline to work with roof profile of Christiansholm but at the same time it expresses its unique identity. What is distinctive from the rest of the masterplan building is that the architecture does not have a single front, but it is multi directional to be easily recognized and accessible from various directions.

Waterfront Cultural Center is to offer spontaneous, open and tangible place that carries the memory of vibrant and dynamic nature of the present Paper Island. Taking advantage of the prominent corner site of the project defined in the masterplan, the ground floor plane of the indoor to outdoor and to the sea is designed in a single gesture. Landscaping the ground plane in terracing and cascading manner creates expansive, continuous perception of water surface from indoor all the way to the harbor. The design attempts to soften and dissolve the edge and blur the sense of boundary of the land.

Architectural form

The strategy of generating the architectural space structure and the form is to manipulate the composition of positive and negative volumes. A series of cone shape volumes in various proportion is generated by being pushed and pulled vertically and horizontally to create particular experiences for each program. The cone shape roofs extruded above correspond to the division of pools at the ground floor. Each pool has distinctive space in the almost exaggerated scale with concentrated light and shadow through large skylights above.

The level above the ground floor is defined as the “negatives” of these extruded roof volumes. It is an open air pool and hot bath that one would experience swimming and dipped in the “valley” among the architectural hills. The inverted cone in the central position works as structural core. It is the deepest void, “valley” among these roofs where outdoor stairwell is placed.

Brick Façade

Brick is chosen to relate to the context of the area and to highlight the quality and aesthetic of the traditional Danish craft. Its haptic texture and warm natural earthy color tones of masonry would achieve the tangible skin defining interior and exterior. The architetcs want to ecplore the potential of brick in its small scale texture being expressed in the large scale of the architecture. Its small units allows us to play with various openings and tectonics, screening natural lights and shadow that reflects on the water surface.

Waterfront Cultural Center‘s brick façade in various level opacity and transparency is to glow with warm light at night and in cold season when dark hours last long. The perforated and screened brick skin would let soft light out in distinct manner. The dust of lights and their reflection on the water would glow at night and signals the presence of the new masterplan development and expresses itself as new unique icon.

PROJECT DATA

Architect

Kengo Kuma & Associates
Yuki Ikeguchi, Marc Moukarzel, Aigerim Syzdykova, Hannah Appelgren

Project team

Associate Architect:
Cornelius Vöge
Engineering Design:
Søren Jensen engineers
Consulting architect::
Niels Sigsgaard

Illustrations

Luxigon
Kengo Kuma & Associates

Physical address

Trangravsvej 14
1436 København
Denmark

Author

Kengo Kuma & Associates

Aerial view

Thank you, Google!

ILLUSTRATIONS

About

“More Sports. More Architecture.” offers architecture, buildings, products, ideas and trends for sports and leisure.
We’re behind this: More Sports Media, a PR agency specializing in architecture, sports and leisure. We offer you support in your public relations work and in all your publications: Copywriting, Designing, Publishing.
We know the industry. Give us a try.

Newsletter

Auch mal reinschauen?

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Have a closer look?

Please join our mailing list.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Durch die weitere Nutzung der Webseite stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zu. By continuing to use the website, you agree to the use of cookies. Weitere Informationen/More information

Die Cookie-Einstellungen auf dieser Website sind auf "Cookies zulassen" eingestellt, um das beste Surferlebnis zu ermöglichen. Wenn du diese Website ohne Änderung der Cookie-Einstellungen verwendest oder auf "Akzeptieren" klickst, erklärst du sich damit einverstanden.

Schließen

Seite auswählen

Pyramiden im Hafen von Kopenhagen

Das Waterfront Cultural Center
Kengo Kuma & Associates mit Cornelius Vöge, Søren Jensen und Niels Sigsgaardn

Das Ziel

Kengo Kuma & Associates haben, in Zusammenarbeit mit Cornelius Vöge, den Ingenieuren von Søren Jensen und Niels Sigsgaard, den Wettbewerb für den Entwurf des Waterfront Cultural Center für Kopenhagen gewonnen. Ihr Projekt kombiniert auf originelle und ausdrucksstarke Weise Einrichtungen für Freizeit und Sportvereine mit dem Thema Hafenbad.

Das neue Waterfront Cultural Center inklusive Hafenbad auf Paper Island will die Bedeutung des Wassers für die Geschichte, Kultur und das pulsierende städtische Leben von Kopenhagen hervorheben. Der Hafen ist das Tor, das wesentlich zur Entwicklung der Stadt beiträgt. Die Uferpromenade ist sowohl Bühne als auch Kulisse für kulturelle Einrichtungen und den hochwertigen öffentlichen Bereich. Hier wird das städtische Leben geprägt.

Im Mittelpunkt des Entwurfs steht das Erlebnis von Landschaft, Kunst und Architektur, die durch das Wasser vereint werden. Kengo Kuma & Associates wollen die vielfältigen Erfahrungen mit Wasser darstellen, die die menschlichen Sinne ansprechen: Licht und Schatten, Dampf, Nebel und Strömung.

Die Pyramiden

Das Projekt ist Teil eines umfassenden Entwicklungsplans für die Insel Paper Island. Die Architektur beeindruckt durch vitale Variationen des Themas Pyramide. Dies ist nach Auskunft der Planer eine Antwort auf die Gestaltungsrichtlinien für die Dächer von Christiansholm – und gibt dem Waterfront Cultural Center seine ganz eigen Identität.

Das Waterfront Cultural Center soll ein spontaner, offener Ort sein, der die pulsierende und dynamische Natur der heutigen Paper Island widerspiegelt. Unter Ausnutzung der im Masterplan definierten prominenten Ecklage des Projekts wird die Erdgeschossebene von innen nach außen und zum Meer in einer einzigen Geste entwickelt. Die terrassenförmige und kaskadierende Begrünung der Eingangsebene schafft eine expansive, kontinuierliche Wahrnehmung der Wasseroberfläche von der Halle bis zum Hafen. Der Entwurf will diese Kante aufweichen und die Grenze zwischen Wasser und Land auflösen – so Kengo Kuma & Associates.

Fast übertrieben

Baukörperformen und architektonische Räume entstehen durch Addition und Subtraktion von positiven und negativen Volumina. Durch Schieben und Ziehen entsteht eine Reihe von unterschiedlichen, aber immer kegelförmigen Volumina – was nicht passt, wird passend gemacht. Die extrudierten, kegelförmigen Dächer entsprechen der Anordnung der Schwimmbecken im Erdgeschoss. Jeder Pool hat einen unverwechselbaren Raum im fast übertriebenen Maßstab, mit konzentriertem Licht und Schatten durch große Oberlichter darüber.

Die Ebene über dem Erdgeschoss ist definiert als der Negativabdruck dieser extrudierten Dachmengen. Hier entstehen ein Freibad und ein Thermalbad. Beide liegen in einer Art Tal zwischen den architektonischen Hügeln. Die Hügel wiederum vermischen Innen und Außen, die klassischen Fassaden werden ein wenig aufgeweicht. Der umgekehrte Kegel in der zentralen Position fungiert als struktureller Kern. Es ist der tiefste Einschnitt, das „Tal“ unter diesen Dächern, in dem sich die Außentreppe befindet.

Die Ziegel

Das Material Ziegel wurde ausgewählt, um eine Beziehung zum Hafen herzustellen und die Qualität und Ästhetik des traditionellen dänischen Handwerks hervorzuheben. Seine haptische Textur und die warmen, natürlichen und erdigen Farbtöne des Mauerwerks passen hier sehr gut hin, gerade als Grenzstein zwischen Innen und Außen. Die Architekten schöpfen das Potenzial dieses kleinmaßstäblichen Materials voll aus. Die kleinen Ziegelsteine ermöglichen das tektonisch geprägte Spiel mit verschiedenen Öffnungen sowie mit Licht und Schatten, die sich auf der Wasseroberfläche spiegeln.

Die Ziegelfassade des Waterfront Cultural Center soll in unterschiedlicher Opazität und Transparenz hell und warm leuchten – vor allem nachts und in der kalten Jahreszeit, wenn die dunklen Stunden lange dauern. Die perforierte Ziegelhaut wird deutlich strahlen und leuchten. Darauf kann man sich ruhig schon mal freuen.

PROJEKTDATEN

Architekt

Kengo Kuma & Associates
Yuki Ikeguchi, Marc Moukarzel, Aigerim Syzdykova, Hannah Appelgren

Team

Kollaborierender Architekt:
Cornelius Vöge
Ingenieure:
Søren Jensen engineers
Beratender Architekt::
Niels Sigsgaard

Illustrationen

Luxigon
Kengo Kuma & Associates

Standort

Trangravsvej 14
1436 København
Dänemark

Autor

Johannes Bühlbecker
More Sports Media

Luftbild

Danke, Google!

ILLUSTRATIONEN

About

„More Sports. More Architecture.“ bietet Architektur, Produkte, Ideen und Inspiration für Sport und Freizeit.
Dahinter steckt More Sports Media, eine PR-Agentur aus Bochum. Wir bieten Unterstützung bei Ihrer Öffentlichkeitsarbeit und bei all Ihren Publikationen: Wir texten, gestalten und publizieren. Wir kennen die Branche. Schon lange.
Probieren Sie uns aus.

Newsletter

Auch mal reinschauen?

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Have a closer look?

Please join our mailing list.

You have Successfully Subscribed!